Uncle Terry Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
Excellent!! After marinating, I put this in the oven at 350 degrees for 2 hours. It turned out great! I made gravy from the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I prepared this for the family I nanny for, they ate the whole roast and said it was delicious! I actually marinated it and then baked it in the oven for about 3 hours instead of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This turned out absolutely delicious. We had to struggle a bit with the time because of living in Colorado. Here, we had a 3 lb chuck roast and cooked in for 15 minutes per side. I will do this many more times. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Family enjoyed tasty marinade but preferred sirloin roast over chuck. Easy for grill or oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
This marinade was delicious; however, next time I will use a more tender cut of meat. Thanks for sharing! Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I actually have never made this but something very very similar to this. For all of those who are saying this would be better with sirloin or roasting it in the oven for an hour or two, you are COMPLETELY missing the point. You buy a "chuck steak", not a chuck roast. If you can't find chuck steak at the store (as it is hard to find) you can cut up a chuck roast into no thicker and about a 3/4 of an inch wide. Marinated chuck steak is INCREDIBLE on the grill and much more flavorful than sirloin. Hope that helps. It also explains cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
We have made this several times for cookouts. We have used sirloin steak instead of chuck roast and it is perfect. It is a favorite with kids & adults alike. This is one of our "keepers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
My family and I enjoyed this recipe. I baked the chuck roast in the marinade in the oven for two hours (covered with foil). I then skimmed the fat off of the marinade, thickened it using cornstarch, and served it over noodles. The chuck roast I used wasn't tough at all -- maybe because I marinaded the roast for approximately 20 hours prior to baking. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Not bad, but nothing spectacular. We marinated for 2 days, so the meat had plenty of time to absorb the marinade. Bf just fried it on the stovetop instead of grilling and then cut it up, mixed with rice and served on lettuce as lettuce wraps. We also used a sirloain steak. I'm a little skeptical about using a chuck roast, but I'm not a beef person so I could be way off base here. I didn't think there was a ton of marinade for the steak and flipped it a couple of times to marinate the entire piece of meat(to be fair, I halved the recipe because it was less than 2 lbs of meat that I had). Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
To be fair, I used a London Broil and ended up baking in the oven after marinating for 48 hours. I cut the recipe in half as it was just under 2 lbs. I should have used the full recipe as it could have used more marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States