Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe DOES work. It is my husbands favorite cookie now. It is a little more fudgey than cakey - but totally awesome (besides what can you expect when you omit the flour). Three suggestions... 1. Apply very little pressure when pressing down with the fork (really just enough to leave the fork lines). 2. When making the divet (sp?) for the jam, make it really shallow! Don't worry, the jam will cling very happily to the "fork lines" you already made. 3. Before adding the jam do the following (to the jam) - put a couple of large spoonfuls of the jam in a separeate bowl and stir the heck out of it. You will end up with jam that is sort of syrupy and very easy to dollop onto cookies. By doing these things my cookies did not break apart, the jam did not drip through and I was able to add quite a liberal amout of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommycakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
These are the greatest cookies! I have found that using the back of a 1/8 teaspoon I was able to form a great dimple for the jelly filling. I have been making them since last christmas and was asked to include them in my boxes this year! I have also found that Strawberry jelly/jam seeps through the dough making them too soft in the middle. Cook on parchment, let cool COMPLETELY on the pan before trying to remove. Thank You Uncle Mac & Edie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
One big tip: double, double, double the recipe or else you won't have enough to go around or for a decent batch. These are definitely 8 min. cookies, no longer. And adding jelly is too hard and tedious, just make these peanut butter cookies or add 1 cup of chocolat or butterscotch chips. If you do, reduce sugar to 2/3 cup per batch. I now just make these w/o jelly, add chips and use a fork to make an imprint. I made them for my kids, (4 & 1 yrs. old) and they loved them, hubby too and disappeared at the bake sale. And made them for a women's tea. They're small and perfect for a lady's finger. Too easy not to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
These were a hit at a party I attended, and I was asked many times for the recipe. When I made them, I doubled the recipe, and used Splenda (sugar substitute) in place of half of the sugar, which worked out fine and cut the calories significantly. (You may even be able to substitute Splenda for all the sugar in the recipe; I just haven't tried it yet.) I wanted bite-sized cookies, so I used a small melon baller (1 teaspoon), flattened them very slightly with a fork, and as suggested by another reviewer, used the back of a 1/8 teaspoon measure to make the indent for the jelly. As others have said, do not overbake these; 8 minutes and 30 seconds was perfect for this size of cookie. Hope you will enjoy them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Overall, I found these cookies to be too dense and very oily. Don't think I'll make them again. Nobody really ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
We have an Uncle Mac in the family also but he sure can't make cookies as yummy as these. *lol* These cookies are great! We've made it a few times already because it disappears fast and the kids ask for more. The whole family loves them. We'll be keeping this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These were very good, but don't press down too hard when making the criss cross pattern. My first batch was too thin and I ended up with flat little peanut butter donuts and the jelly melted through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I made these for a bon voyage party for my father who has celiac disease (he can't have any gluten). He is always looking for new things to eat in the sweets department because he doesn't have much of a selection. So I made these for him---they are soooooooo easy! Everyone at the party ate them up--my Dad had to make sure one was saved for him! Even my brothers loved them, and they are very picky. They thought that I should make them without the jelly though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These cookies are great! With and without peanut butter...they are soft, and very, very chewy. Some things I suggest are: Only use about half a cup of sugar..It's VERY sweet! And do not over cook. They may seem very mushy when it's 10 minutes, but they are done. Let them sit for a while and they'll firm up. Also, they expand, so don't flatten them out too much. Last suggestion is DOUBLE THE RECIPE!! They only made 9 medium sized cookies. Eat with a glass of milk and enjoy! Will definatley make these again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
The cookies are excellent!!I tried a batch without the jelly first and they tasted great!! With the jelly it tasted good too!They burned a little so next time I think I will put them in for only 8 minutes and I will try to put more vanilla in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States