Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
VERY tasty, but extremely soft. Even when cooled, they fell apart easily. Next time, I'll increase the baking time. Maybe that'll harden them up a bit. The ingredient list is so short & simple! It's great to be able to make such yummy cookies without butter or even margarine. Conclusion - gooey, yet delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAZZARI76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
All things considered, a good cookie. If you have a problem with the jam leaking, simply don't make the whole too deep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
One big tip: double, double, double the recipe or else you won't have enough to go around or for a decent batch. These are definitely 8 min. cookies, no longer. And adding jelly is too hard and tedious, just make these peanut butter cookies or add 1 cup of chocolat or butterscotch chips. If you do, reduce sugar to 2/3 cup per batch. I now just make these w/o jelly, add chips and use a fork to make an imprint. I made them for my kids, (4 & 1 yrs. old) and they loved them, hubby too and disappeared at the bake sale. And made them for a women's tea. They're small and perfect for a lady's finger. Too easy not to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
These cookies were GREAT. I made them a little thicker, didn't press them down too much, and everything turned out great! I made a second batch as a pan cookie and just swirled in some jelly. Those went over VERY well also. You just have to make sure you don't flatten them too much, you don't overcook them, and you let them cool down enough to get a little harder before you eat them (otherwise they're VERY messy). :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
nice!so easy! i made my indents too deep, so , unfortunatly the jam went right through, they looked more like doughnut cookies. These are really soft when removed from oven, so allow plenty of time to cool on the tray before attempting to lift:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These were nothing but baked peanut butter globs. They were as mushy coming out as they were going into the oven. I even baked for longer than the recommended time. They stuck to the pan and no one in my house ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
These cookies were great. Really wanted to bake cookies but didn't have ANYthing in the house (no shortening, no baking powder or soda, etc.) This took me like five minutes, one bowl and came out really great. I think the key to doing this is just putting a very small amount of jelly in the hole and not pushing the hole through too far. Very moist...yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I thought these were absolutely delicious. My husband wasn't too keen on the jelly but thought the cookie itself was the best peanut butter cookie he's had. Me and the kids thought they were scrumptious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This was a huge hit with my peanut butter and jelly addicted husband and kids. Like some of the other reviewers I also had a problem with some of the cookies falling apart even after I had let them cool at bit on the cookie sheets. I actually had to bump up the time to 12 minutes to get mine to cook all the way as well. I tried with and w/o the jelly and both were very good. I even tried honey in place of the jelly and that worked as well but made for a HUGE mess on my cookie sheets. The cookies were good and for the quickness and ease of the receipe I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Easy, and quick to make. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States