Uncle Mac's Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a great gluten free recipe, you never miss the flour. I use brown sugar instead of white and decrease the amount a little otherwise it is too sweet. I also sometimes add a little corn starch to give them more of a cookie texture. You can also substitute chocolate for the jelly and they are also amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These cookies are good. They are tasty and very easy to make. I like that you can get creative with different jam flavors as well. Here are the revisions I made on my first try at these and they turned out great. Some came from you guys here (thank you so much) and a couple of my own. 1. Definately cut the sugar in half. I didn't even attempt to make it with what the recipe calls for per someone's suggestion and I'm glad, because while I enjoy "sweet" too much can ruin it. They were the perfect amount of sweetness with half the sugar. 2. I sprayed the fork with cooking spray and as someone else mentioned DON'T flatten these cookies with the fork, whatever you use to make the "filling hole" or otherwise. An 1/8 teaspoon works for the indentation. Press just enough to make a slight dip in the center so the filling won't run over. 3. DEFINATELY mix the jelly or jam before you drop it on the cookies. Much less mess and easier to control. 4. I doubled the recipe as well per other suggestions and I had a ton of cookies, which was fine because they are smaller, but it seems the original amount would yeild a good amount of cookies. 5. BAKE TIME: You guys are right! 8 minutes is PERFECT. 6. Finally, I added good pinches of cinnamon and nutmeg. They turned out great! Thank you for sharing the recipe and thank you to all the others who shared their own revisions. What a great team we all make on here :D! Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made these twice because my husband finished the first batch in 1 days! The flavor is amazing and all in the quality of the PB you buy! After reading other's suggestions I agree that you should not press them down too much or make the jelly hole too deep so the jelly doesn't come through the bottom. Also, I mixed the jelly the second time, rather than just scooping it our of the jar and it had a better texture... stickier. The only thing I did different was bake for 15 minutes. The first time I baked for 10 minutes and the cookies were fudgy, but too crumbly. At 15 minutes they are still soft and hold together much better. These will be a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe gets 5 stars for being simple and delicious. I halved the sugar. Also, I just rolled the dough into ping-pong sized balls and then flattened them slightly and made a thumb print for the jam. I made them for my kids, but we'll see if there are any left once they get home from school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Really good and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I make these all the time, and they're very good. You can reduce the sugar a bit (3/4 c) if you like. Also, if peanuts are a concern, they're also good made with almond or sun(flower seed) butter. I'm thinking of trying them with Joyva tahini sometime, too. For a chocolate cookie, use chocolate flavored peanut butter or one of those hazelnut spreads might work (just adjust for sweetness). Also, I find that lining the pan with parchment keeps them from sticking and makes clean-up a breeze! And you can form them into balls (dip your fingers in sugar first), rather than dropping them by the spoonful. The tip to use the back of a measuring spoon to make the indentation is genius! I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very yummy. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup, the consistency was much better and stayed together better once cooked. Not as enjoyable with "natural" pb, a little gritty. I tried cooking for 5 minutes, added kisses, then cooked for another 3. The best were the grape jelly ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very easy to make. Used the Melon Baller for cookies and 1/8 measuring spoon and worked great. Only one cookie went flat because I pressed down too far and made the jellow hole to deep. Very sweet so maybe cut sugar down some. Excellent with Iced cold milk. Had to cook for 11 min with my older oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We did not enjoy these at all. what do you expect for a cookie with no flour, right? they were so chewy i think we all gave ourselves cavities, as the "cookie" stuck in every crevice of every tooth. the flavor wasn't enough to save these either...bland bland bland. not something i would ever make again. if i wanted a pb and j cookie, i'd make the recipe for the hershey kiss pb cookies, and put jam in the middle instead of the chocolate. good idea in theory...just not in practice, at least in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I omitted the jelly and used this recipe for plain peanut butter cookies. So very simple and so very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States