Uncle Jesse's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Seriously, people, those of you who appoint yourselves as the "food police" STOP rating and commenting on recipes that you haven't tried and don't plan to. NO ONE CARES if you think there's too much fat or sugar or whatever in a recipe, we are free to eat what we want and so are you. Go enjoy your egg whites and mush, I'll have a piece of French toast with BUTTER and spices and real eggs. Wonder who will enjoy their breakfast the most? :) Great recipe, loved the spices and butter, easy to make. I cook this in a cast iron skillet over a camp fire when we meet up with friends to go on trail rides on our horses and it is a huge hit! I serve it with BACON and HONEY HAM and skillet potatoes! If it kills me, at least I enjoyed my meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I added a good amount of vanilla extract to the egg wash. That was the only change I made. Both of my kids said this was the best french toast they've ever had. They loved the confectioners sugar on top. HIGHLY suggest you make this in your cast iron skillet--it gets this wonderful crust that can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These were great! I usually use Cinnamon while making French Toast but never thought of using Nutmeg, Cloves and Ginger. I would have to say I cut way down on the Cloves as it seemed to over power the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I don't believe I have ever given one star before. I could not even attempt to eat this. The flavors were extremely overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Well, I made this today for my daughter's birthday breakfast. I made a few changes: I used day old Italian Bread, 1 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ground cloves, 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. ginger. I also have never made French toast without milk so I added some as well. I didn't use more butter than just enough to fry the French toast. I lightly dusted the sugar. We enjoyed this quite a lot. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This French toast is wonderful. And a great special occasion treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
These are very good, although I think they were a little spicy for my 2 year old. I may cut the spices in half next time. I did add a little milk. This made 8 pieces of toast for me, not 15! Perfect amount for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent. I added a little honey to the butter I drizzled over them and they were wonderful! I will use only half the cloves next time because I think 1 tsp overpowered the other spices, but other than that, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was delish! Best french toast i've ever had. Thanks Uncle Jesse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was a hit with both my husband and I. I did changed a few things seeing as my husband does not like things very spicy (I will be trying original recipe when he's not around ). I left cinnamon as is but halved the other spices. I also used pumpkin spice in place of cloves b/c I didn't have any one hand. I added a little milk. I topped mine with a little pecan pumkin butter and was in heaven. This one is definately going in the book. Thank you for this tasty spin on an original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States