Uncle Jesse's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I cut down the calories/fat significantly by using a 55 cal/slice wheat bread and egg substitute for dipping. Also, use a butter-flavor cooking spray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntympaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was FANTASTIC!! I made this for my hubby on his last Sunday with us before he deployed. He loved every bite of it. He is not too fond of cloves so I omitted that ingredient. I didn't use ground ginger either. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla to it though. I used thick sliced home made bread. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was fabulous! I loved the spice and I felt like it was Christmas. This reminded me of gingerbread. I had to add some milk to thin the eggs for dipping and I added a little sugar to the egg as it's just tradition. I didn't have enough butter left to melt and drizzle much over the top, so they were a little dry, but delicious nonetheless. This would be a great holiday brunch dish. It's good for an ordinary Monday like today too! Thanks, awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
this is the way french toast should be ,this recipe is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Quick to make. The taste of clove is not over powering. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was a hit with both my husband and I. I did changed a few things seeing as my husband does not like things very spicy (I will be trying original recipe when he's not around ). I left cinnamon as is but halved the other spices. I also used pumpkin spice in place of cloves b/c I didn't have any one hand. I added a little milk. I topped mine with a little pecan pumkin butter and was in heaven. This one is definately going in the book. Thank you for this tasty spin on an original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love this version with just eggs! It was so easy and took only a few minutes to whip up for my toddler. Use a rich bread like Brioche or Challah for this version and you will look like a breakfast God in under 10 miutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
very tasty...loved this recipe. However, my kids thought it was too "cinnamonny" (their word). I then cut the recipe in half, but added one more egg, and then they liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This only made 5 slices for us. I halved the cloves but it was still a little overpowering and we really like spices. I think next time I'd eliminate the cloves and add some cardamom instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States