Uncle Jesse's French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I am a big french toast fan, but this recipe was just... ok. My boyfriend and I really wanted french toast, but ran out of milk so I found this recipe as a milk-less alternative. I cut this recipe in half and added a tsp of vanilla extract, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. I wasn't very impressed and probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I gave it four stars only because I changed it from frying it the ever so fattening butter to using Coconut oil instead. I am here looking for anti-inflammatory recipes, and I am avoiding butter and cutting way back on bread, but I am suppose to eat lots of spices including cloves, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, cayenne, rosemary, oregano, and turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrecioustoHim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Pretty good....my youngest said it tasted like pumpkin pie...lol.....hubby enjoyed, I did leave out the cloves. I did add some vanilla to the egg mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I added a good amount of vanilla extract to the egg wash. That was the only change I made. Both of my kids said this was the best french toast they've ever had. They loved the confectioners sugar on top. HIGHLY suggest you make this in your cast iron skillet--it gets this wonderful crust that can't be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've found that if you pour the ingredients on the bread and refrigerate everything til the bread absorbs the liquid, which takes about 10 minutes or so, you will get better absorption. Otherwise, the bread doesn't absorb enough of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmaman Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe! This has become my family's favorite French Toast. I modified the recipe slightly by adding some milk to the mixture along with a teaspoon of vanilla. It is especially delicious topped with butter and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My husband and I made this recently and really think that the amounts (measurements) of the spices are way too much! Maybe not as much with the cinnamon...but way too much of the others, especially the cloves! Yikes! I agree with other member ratings - vanilla would be a great addition, and using white bread gives a true and traditional "french toast" flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Now I know why I always love the french toast in restaurants, but cant seem to make it quite the same at home! lol! This is definitely restaurant quality, and I loved it!! :) The only thing I did differently, is I didn't add Ginger, as one, I had none, and two, I am not really a fan of it anyways...other than that, FANTABULOUS!! Can't wait to show off to my friends now! haha!! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I liked it a lot, but my rating should really be 4 1/2 stars. Then after trying, I changed it somewhat. I left out cloves just b/c I don't like them & used dry Texas Toast, plus I don't drizzle with butter and just coat with the c. sugar -- yum! please try the recipe b4 u rate it -- it is helpful to us not so great cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is identical to our family recipe with the following changes. Add 1 Teaspoon of real vanilla and use 1 inch thick sliced bread or store bought "Texas Toast" instead of the wheat bread. You will love the difference the vanilla makes. When cooked serve with Maple Syrup instead of the melted butter. Enjoy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States