Uncle Howie's Favorite Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I was looking for an artichoke dip recipe without parmesan cheese. I tried this one, but since I didn't have all the ingredients I changed it up a bit. I used monterey jack cheese (instead of swiss) and sweet onion (instead of green) and omitted the red peppers. I also added some salt, pepper and a couple of dashes of tabasco sauce. I heated the dip in the oven at 350 for about 15 min. It turned out pretty good. I would double the garlic and add a few more drops of tabasco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I couldn't find marinated artichokes anywhere in my local grocery store so I used a 14 oz can of whole artichoke hearts. I halved the yellow bell pepper I had on hand as it was HUGE and I had concerns it would overpower the dish to be 'Uncle Howe's Favorite Bell Pepper with a bit of Artichoke Dip'. I also sauteed the onion, bell pepper and garlic a bit just to make sure nothing overwhelmed the artichoke taste. After letting it sit cold in the fridge it tasted too much of mayo, so I tossed it in the oven as the description above states. SO MUCH BETTER. I added a dash of nutmeg, pepper AND lemon pepper then I topped it with more Swiss cheese before finishing it in the broiler. The dish was all but licked clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I have made this recipe over and over and over, and everyone RAVES about it. I do add a few extra cloves of garlic and have been known to use hot sauce in it from time to time. I also have used low fat cream cheese and mayo and it is still excellent. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe! I added a little more cheese and then added the juice from the jar of artichokes to give it a little more flavor. Then I added salt and pepper. I am taking this to a party so I won't, but I believe adding tobasco sauce would be awesome to add a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Fantastic dip! I served it with homemade crostini, which was perfect. I will definitely serve this to company again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was the hit of the party! I left out the bell peppers and the green onion b/c I didn't have them on hand. I also split this into two small dishes, so I could put out one at a time. I put them in the oven for 15 minutes to warm through, and they came out with a beautiful golden top. Served with crackers, and people couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I served it cold because I was looking for a recipe to avoid turning on the oven during the summer. In place of the temperature heat, I added a couple of teaspoons of hot sauce to the recipe to give it a zing and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
It was good. Not too complicated to assemble. I didn't have any green onions so I just added a few extra dashes of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I'VE MADE THIS TWICE AND IT'S ALWAYS A HIT I CAN'T BELIEVE NOBODY HAS SOME HOW PACKAGED THIS UP TO SELL, I THINK IT'S THAT GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
My family LOVES this dip- I like to double the garlic- for an extra zing! Very easy to make. I made it for a party and had several friends and family ask me for the recipe. This dish is now at every gathering we have- Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States