Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I have tried many a pot of Gumbo, but this is the only one I will eat! I have made this recipe several times, today for a pot luck. It was rated "Pot Lickin' Good" by all. The only thing I will change next time is to decrease the oil to brown the chicken and make the roux. In fact, next time I may try either baking or making the roux in the microwave. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I've made this a couple times now and here's what I change: I add a package of bacon, omit the shrimp, and keep all of the meat's grease and oil, which is about a quarter extra cup of oil as well as flour you'll have to add. It'll give you more roux but it'll also be much richer and darker and give the whole gumbo a ton more flavor. I also add quadruple the hot sauce and add it a step before so it makes it's rounds through the whole gumbo more. Make this regularly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
First cooking this and turned out great!!! Did not add the shrimp only because my sister is allergic...next I will add shrimp if I am only cooking at my house...Love it...a must try recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This Is an winner for my family.Its An keeper in the family.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
very good don't really need to cook roux so long we added fresh garden tomatoes about five med., a serrano and aneheim pepper15 min before adding shrimp also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. Didn't have any shrimp so left that out and it still was delicious. Gumbo I had in the past always had tomatoes so I added a tin of crushed tomatoes to it and added a little less water. Spice level was not as spicy as I wanted but my wife found it acceptable, good thing for hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was the first gumbo recipe I ever tried to make and it's been my go-to recipe ever since I discovered it in 2006. The resulting stew is rich, thick, complex and absolutely delicious. I've made it for family functions and potlucks and it's always been a hit. I've made a few alterations over the years that work out well for me. The major change is I sautee the vegetables and meats in steps 1 and 2 in a separate pan and make the roux in the stock pot. Once the roux is made and the water and veg are heating to a boil I dab the excess oil from the bottom of the pan, crank the heat up and deglaze with a mixture of 1/4 cup broth and 1/4 cup wine or sherry, using a fork to scrape off the little browned bits on the bottom of the pan and stirring it around to leech out the flavor. Then I pour it through a sieve into the stock pot. I find this adds just a little bit more complexity to the flavor of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
if anyone is from Louisiana and you're looking for some "authentic" gumbo, THIS IS IT! I was raised on gumbo, jambalaya and boudain...when I made this, Lawd, it reminded me of home! Gumbo is ambitious and eveybody can't make it. Try this recipe...you'll surprise yourself and your family too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Fantastic gumbo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This came out sooooo very good but I probably would only make it a couple times per year since it takes so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States