Uncle Buc's Coffee Meat Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly. The steak was a good quality cut. We wish we could concur with all these good reviews, but it is WAY too salty. It may be a good recipe if you cut the salt back by at least half or more. We were unable to finish our steak as a result. I think the coffee rub recipe has promise, but with so much salt recommended, please cut back on this part of the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
YOUR GOING TO LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck Hults

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Keep in mind to use FRESHLY GROUND coffee, not something that's already ground and sitting in your cupboard for weeks. Otherwise the coffee won't be as effective. I grind beans the day of grilling and put the rub on the steaks and then have them sit in the fridge for a few hours so it can marinade--I think that really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A good rub should be a blend of ingredients that all marry to form a unique flavor all its own. So many are kept secret for that very reason. This was not the case here, unfortunately. While the coffee was not apparent at all, the same can’t be said for the cumin, which was too bold. Too much pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
used this on Porterhouse Steak... was Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Fantastic. Interestingly, it doesn't taste so much like coffee but the coffee definitely gives it an earthy quality. Keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
made this with a roast, was very tasty! keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy Hawkes Dukes
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was an interesting rub! I used it on beef for beef & broccli and it was a hit! Will make again to keep some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Hawkes Dukes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was SO strange. The flavor was great but it smelled like the candied nuts they sell at Disneyland while it was grilling. It also had a chocolate-y flavor. I think I put way too much rub on each steak. I normally overdo rubs and they come out great- this one had lots of spice- save the extra for another day. I only used 1 tsp black pepper (fine ground) and thought it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States