Uncle Bill's Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
If you're looking for a recipe like what you get at the Chinese restaurant, LOOK NO MORE! This was very easy and turned out wonderful. I did make adjustments suggested by previous reviews such as used only 3/4 cup vinegar, left out the MSG, however, I did put a few drops of red coloring in it. I also add a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce, plum sauce from the pack you get from the chinese restaurant, and 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes. Also, I didn't have Pineapple concetrate using Pineapple juice from the can adding 1 teaspoon of cornstarch for thickening at the end. I served it my own fried rice recipe I like to make. This is definitely a keeper and I love the fact that the ingredients required I usually have these on hand, so anytime I get that crave for some chinese food I can easily throw it together and VIOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very nice but I leave MSG at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal!!!! A must have for any sweet and sour dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Been searching for a sweet and sour recipe for a while, and this one is perfect! I did not add the MSG or the red food coloring. I did add sesame oil, only like a few drops since it is super strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I did not use the MSG or the food coloring but I did add a touch of red pepper flake. Even without that, this tasted pretty close to restaurant-made sweet and sour sauce. My husband thought it was a little too sour and I thought it was a touch too salty so I might play with the vinegar and salt a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
thanks for sharing this recipe! its the closest to the one i had (and lost and had been making for yrs)and use it to make sweet n sour chicken. i reduced the vinegar and sugar (used half cup each), omitted the salt, msg, and food colouring and substituted the pineapple concentrate for the juice that comes in the pineapple can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Just made this sauce for a "TRUE BLOOD" party tonight and I'm here to say this is "broke da mout Ono!" that is to say "this is one tasty sauce!" I like it much, much, better than what is served here on the Big Island. Only mad two changes. Used only 3/4c of vinegar and no MSG. I did use the red dye and I'm glad I did as it gave it a pleasant color and I think a little "eye appeal" goes along way with presentation. I'm mean come on people, what harm is 3 little drops going of food coloring going to do? This is being pared with Uncle Bills Chicken Strips from this site. A Hui HO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fantastic! Better than my local Chinese place. Good with any meat I'm sure, I used pork. Thanks Uncle Bill, you and Uncle Ben made my night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe was easy to make, everyone loved it. I am going to make a big batch and pour it over meatballs and bring to a stag that I am going to next weekend. I also left out the msg & food colouring, I took other reviewers advice and decreased the vinegar. Thanks for a simple recipe that even I can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is really good tasting. I had to reduce the vinegar by half. I had no pineapple concentrate and had only a 1/2 c. of juice from some canned pineapple. I didn't use the red food coloring either - my finished product is such a dark brown due to the soy sauce, that no amount of food coloring could have had an impact. However, even with all of the above, this is excellent and I will be making it again. I served it with shrimp cooked in Unbelievable Fish Batter from this website. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States