Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I admit I was skeptical of this recipe. It looked too simple and I just couldn't imagine that taco seasoning and ranch dressing mix would come together to make a tasty chili. It does! I followed the recipe exactly but substituted ground beef for the vegetarian crumbles. I served this with cornbread muffins. Delicious! I can't think of a thing to change with the exception that maybe next time I will add some chopped green pepper. I can't wait to have leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Let me start by saying that I am *NOT* a vegetarian. I made this for my book club (vegetarians and non) last night and they LOVED it. It has a great consistency and the flavors are wonderful. The vegi burger crubmles gave it a good texture that most non meat chili recipies seem to lack. I just dumped everything in the crock pot and cooked on high for 3 hours and it couldn't have been easier. Everyone is asking for the recipie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Adding additional heat with crushed red pepper and more hot sauce was really great too if you like spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This makes a fantastic vegetarian "chili"! I've also made it w/ground beef in place of the veggie crumbles, and with or without beans. It is really good and I love that it is SO easy. It's good for everyone...grown ups, kids - everyone who likes "chili" (and even some who don't!)will enjoy this. Chili Snobs may sneer, but I'm telling you this is a surprisingly delicious, easy recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
definitely extremely easy and fast...i changed the recipe however, and it still came out great (but spicier than I had expected). i added 1lb ground turkey, some whole wheat elbow macaroni noodles, a can of "rotel", some chili powder, 2 cans of tomato sauce and one can of tomato soup. then i had to add water because it was still very dry with the added meat and noodles. i added 2 cups of water and then it was perfect! SO EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Unreal! This thing tasted so good! Incredibly easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This chili was fantastic considering it takes only five minutes to prepare. My nonvegetarian husband loves it just as much as I do. Much better tasting and healthier than store bought chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I love how easy it is to make and it is very inexpensive too. I made it the night before a big camping trip and froze it. It helped keep the things in the cooler cold and when it thawed out we cooked it for dinner. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corabelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Made this for dinner tonight, and it was excellent. Added hamburger to half (his) and veggie burger to mine (hers.) Made with 14 oz of homeade salsa and 14 oz homeade canned tomatoes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Very tasty, extremely quick, and so filling! I rinsed my white beans to get rid of as much salt as possible and added a can of whole kernel corn. I did make this with ground beef and browned that with a clove of garlic. My boyfriend added cayenne pepper to his and I ate mine with a dollop of sour cream... yum! Next time I do think that I would add some tomato juice to give it some more liquid, it was just a tad too thick for us. Very good, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States