Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Let me start by saying that I am *NOT* a vegetarian. I made this for my book club (vegetarians and non) last night and they LOVED it. It has a great consistency and the flavors are wonderful. The vegi burger crubmles gave it a good texture that most non meat chili recipies seem to lack. I just dumped everything in the crock pot and cooked on high for 3 hours and it couldn't have been easier. Everyone is asking for the recipie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
My husband and I want to start cooking some vegetarian dishes because they are healthier but we like meat and we're not big fans of veggies. So I thought chili would be a safe start. We were both a little freaked out about the vegetarian meat substitute so I remembered a chili I've had from Pullman, WA where we went to college (they grow a ton of lentils) and substituted lentils. I boiled 2 cups of lentils according to the directions on the bag and added it to the dish instead of the meat crumbles. It came out AWESOME. I hope others try my lentil substitute, because it was really amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I admit I was skeptical of this recipe. It looked too simple and I just couldn't imagine that taco seasoning and ranch dressing mix would come together to make a tasty chili. It does! I followed the recipe exactly but substituted ground beef for the vegetarian crumbles. I served this with cornbread muffins. Delicious! I can't think of a thing to change with the exception that maybe next time I will add some chopped green pepper. I can't wait to have leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This makes a fantastic vegetarian "chili"! I've also made it w/ground beef in place of the veggie crumbles, and with or without beans. It is really good and I love that it is SO easy. It's good for everyone...grown ups, kids - everyone who likes "chili" (and even some who don't!)will enjoy this. Chili Snobs may sneer, but I'm telling you this is a surprisingly delicious, easy recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
It was really amazing how well it came out. I used 1/2cup barly instead of the fake beef and added a little bit of chili mix. All in all, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
you're right, i didn't believe how good it would be! followed the previous reviewer's suggestion of making the taco and ranch seasoning from recipes on the site (cutting out most of the salt). this really saved me cos i'm hard up for groceries for a few days, and i had the stuff on hand (used yves mexican ground round instead of burgers). this is a keeper. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really like this recipe, the ranch spices really help make it stand out against the typical chili I make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Used the Ranch Dressing and Dip Mix (2 tbsp) and Taco Seasoning I (2 tbsp) both from allrecipes. Excellent chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was a fabulous recipe! I loved that it was fast, easy, and versitile. You could easily substitute the veggie meat for ground beef or ground turkey and it would work great. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out very tasty. My kids didn't even know it was veggie meat! I would definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Not overly spicy. A big hit with my extremely picky vegetarian boyfriend, which means kids will probably like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States