Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I wish I could give this one more stars. I was curious about the ingredients and made this. I did put ground turkey in and I used 2 cans of chili beans as I love them. What a wonderfully easy way to make chili and very tasty. I used the left overs to make nachos. I used baked chips and 2% Mexican cheese. What a great, lo-cal, lo-fat appetizer. Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Way too easy! I used half package of ranch and half of taco seasoning, and left out the TVP, and added a tsp of chili powder. I recommend draining the beans- less sodium and thicker chili. YUMMY! My friends loved it, even the super carnivore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
WOW! When I read this recipe I was more than skeptical but the raving reviews lured me in. Let me start by saying I am absolutely a chili snob. I made this today and was pleasantly surprised. I did a few things different, I browned about 1/2 lb ground beef with 2 cloves of minced harlic and added that to the pot. I also thought I had bought Ranch Dresisng mix when I actually bought Ranch Dip mix, I almost ran back out to the store but it was too late, the snow was already falling hard. I used about 3/4 of the Taco Seasoning packet and about 1/2-3/4 of the Dip packet. As i was tasting it I added slightly more taco seasoning than dip mix because I felt it tasted a little too tangy (maybe because it was dip & not dresisng), I also added about 2 tspn of chili powder and a pinch or 2 of crushed red pepper flakes. It was quick, simple and surprisingly good. My husband even loved and he is a BIG fan of my usual chili, he ate his with some totilla chips and mine was plain. Also, I didn't realize until we were done eating that I totally forgot to add the onion. I will definitely make this again - with the onion and with dressing mix instead of dip mix to see if there is a difference between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is such a hit on so many levels! It's healthy, tastes great, it's fast to make after work and my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Simple dinner and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walks_softly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Absolutely fantastic recipe! I accidentally bought soy taco filling instead of regular soy ground beef so I just omitted the taco seasoning. It tasted amazing even with the revision and only took about 10 minuets start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I don't know...I just didn't like it. Too salty. Too "processed" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been using it for over 4 years (since I've become a vegetarian). Anything that is quick, easy, and delicious works for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
The plus for this recipe: VERY easy to make. I literally dumped in the required incredients, turned the burner on low and walked away. Chili does not get any easier. Overall, the chili had a great smell but was way too salty. (For the record, my husband didn't mind it at all.) I followed the directions exactly, but if I made this recipe again, I would only put half a packet of ranch mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This chili is amazing! It is by far the best chili I have had in a long time, and it is so easy to make! One suggestion is to use only 1/2 a packet of ranch dressing mix and 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning mix. It makes the flavors of the beans and meat stand out more. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States