Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
My husband and I want to start cooking some vegetarian dishes because they are healthier but we like meat and we're not big fans of veggies. So I thought chili would be a safe start. We were both a little freaked out about the vegetarian meat substitute so I remembered a chili I've had from Pullman, WA where we went to college (they grow a ton of lentils) and substituted lentils. I boiled 2 cups of lentils according to the directions on the bag and added it to the dish instead of the meat crumbles. It came out AWESOME. I hope others try my lentil substitute, because it was really amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I was short on beans...but....did have a can of Bush's "Grillin Beans, Black Bean Fiesta" in the house so added that (It does have bacon and chicken in the recipe so avoid if your a strict vegetarian!). Yummy addition to a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I thought it was yummy. I added wheat and some liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
OMG! I tasted it without the protein and it was great. I did'nt add the cheese and it was still great. I love to cook but live alone so don't spend too much time unless I'm having guests. Yes, it is unbelievably easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
this was good. my crockpot was too small to add the burger crumbles so i left that out and it was still good. also, i took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 packet of seasoning mix. it was a tad salty still and that is why I gave it 4/5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Incredibly easy, inexpensive, healthy, delicious. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I doubled this recipe and took it to a holiday party. It was a HUGE hit! The carnivores couldn't believe that it was vegetarian and everyone wanted the recipe! Thanks for sharing it tracy b!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Perfect for chili and corn bread! I make this on those nights that I really don't want to cook! I add a can of corn and another can of beans to it and sometimes it I want even more texture I will add a package of original smart ground (this one is good because it's so dry already) to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I thought this was a good chili. I used homemade ranch dressing mix and homemade taco seasoning--so much easier to make it than to buy it, especially with the amount of spices I have around! I added some chili powder, but I kind of regret doing so because that made it spicy. I used veggie burgers and they got a bit mushy. I thought we'd be eating this at about 2 pm or so, so I put it in the crock pot on high, then I switched it to low after about an hour. but we didn't end up eating until almost 5 pm, which is why i think the veggie burgers got mushy. So, if you use the crockpot, don't add your crumbles until maybe the last hour or so of cooking. Otherwise, this was a nice, warm meal for a cold evening. And since the problems were all my fault, I'll make this one again when I am wanting vegetarian chili again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Love this chili!! So does my husband who is a die hard meat lover, along with every one of my other friends who has had it. Great for casual parties!! I make a full crockpot of it, and rarely have leftovers for more than a day or two! Very flexible in regards to type of beans/amounts etc. also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States