Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was great! I made some changes based on what I had on hand... Used 28oz can crushed tomatoes;1 can Great Northern beans; 1 can Kidney beans; and instead of vege burger crumbles, I shredded 1 package of Tempeh in. I put everything into the crock pot in the early afternoon on high, cooked for about 3 hours...The Tempeh was great in this chili; it gave an interesting texture to the dish. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is my absolute favorite chili by far - my father, who eats meat, said that it's outstanding and that you'd never know it's vegetarian. It's so delicious and filling that no one would miss the meat anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
My husband and I want to start cooking some vegetarian dishes because they are healthier but we like meat and we're not big fans of veggies. So I thought chili would be a safe start. We were both a little freaked out about the vegetarian meat substitute so I remembered a chili I've had from Pullman, WA where we went to college (they grow a ton of lentils) and substituted lentils. I boiled 2 cups of lentils according to the directions on the bag and added it to the dish instead of the meat crumbles. It came out AWESOME. I hope others try my lentil substitute, because it was really amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I was short on beans...but....did have a can of Bush's "Grillin Beans, Black Bean Fiesta" in the house so added that (It does have bacon and chicken in the recipe so avoid if your a strict vegetarian!). Yummy addition to a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I thought it was yummy. I added wheat and some liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
OMG! I tasted it without the protein and it was great. I did'nt add the cheese and it was still great. I love to cook but live alone so don't spend too much time unless I'm having guests. Yes, it is unbelievably easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
this was good. my crockpot was too small to add the burger crumbles so i left that out and it was still good. also, i took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 packet of seasoning mix. it was a tad salty still and that is why I gave it 4/5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Incredibly easy, inexpensive, healthy, delicious. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I doubled this recipe and took it to a holiday party. It was a HUGE hit! The carnivores couldn't believe that it was vegetarian and everyone wanted the recipe! Thanks for sharing it tracy b!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Perfect for chili and corn bread! I make this on those nights that I really don't want to cook! I add a can of corn and another can of beans to it and sometimes it I want even more texture I will add a package of original smart ground (this one is good because it's so dry already) to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States