Unbelievably Easy and Delicious Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Awesome! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe (always a good sign in my book, lol) And it was just as easy as Tracy B. said it was. I made a couple adjustments because I was serving it to people who love their chili hot. I used one 10 oz. can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies and one 14.5 oz. can of regular diced tomatoes instead of the 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Plus, I used 'hot' chili beans. Oh yeah, one more change but I doubt it enhanced it at all but after adding the meat, I cooked in a crock pot it on low for 10 hours (you could probably get by with less time - I simply forgot to turn it off :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was SO good! I actually made it with ground turkey instead of the vegetarian burger crumbles. My family loved it and we didn't have enough for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I add green peppers and corn, then cook it for an hour, then, when I put in the "fake meat," I add cinnamon and cilantro. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was great! I made some changes based on what I had on hand... Used 28oz can crushed tomatoes;1 can Great Northern beans; 1 can Kidney beans; and instead of vege burger crumbles, I shredded 1 package of Tempeh in. I put everything into the crock pot in the early afternoon on high, cooked for about 3 hours...The Tempeh was great in this chili; it gave an interesting texture to the dish. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is my absolute favorite chili by far - my father, who eats meat, said that it's outstanding and that you'd never know it's vegetarian. It's so delicious and filling that no one would miss the meat anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
My husband and I want to start cooking some vegetarian dishes because they are healthier but we like meat and we're not big fans of veggies. So I thought chili would be a safe start. We were both a little freaked out about the vegetarian meat substitute so I remembered a chili I've had from Pullman, WA where we went to college (they grow a ton of lentils) and substituted lentils. I boiled 2 cups of lentils according to the directions on the bag and added it to the dish instead of the meat crumbles. It came out AWESOME. I hope others try my lentil substitute, because it was really amazing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I was short on beans...but....did have a can of Bush's "Grillin Beans, Black Bean Fiesta" in the house so added that (It does have bacon and chicken in the recipe so avoid if your a strict vegetarian!). Yummy addition to a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I thought it was yummy. I added wheat and some liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
OMG! I tasted it without the protein and it was great. I did'nt add the cheese and it was still great. I love to cook but live alone so don't spend too much time unless I'm having guests. Yes, it is unbelievably easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
this was good. my crockpot was too small to add the burger crumbles so i left that out and it was still good. also, i took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 packet of seasoning mix. it was a tad salty still and that is why I gave it 4/5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States