Unbelievably Easy Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was an easy midweek dessert. The kids liked it but it is very sweet. I mixed the butter/juice mixture with the cake batter before pouring over fruit. Cake was moist not gooey like the other reviews. Note: Use a large crockpot because the cake will rise. Served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was awesome. I made as written, checked on it occasionally, and gently stired the dry spots on top. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made this for the recipe group. I'm sorry for the low rating, but this did not turn out for me. To be fair, I did use a sugar-free cake mix. I tried to leave it alone for the entire time, but it still had dry spots after two hours. I blended those into the partially cooked mix. I tried it after three hours and didn't care for it. It didn't taste like a cake. It was more like partially cooked brownie mix. The fruit is great together and I saved that. I'm glad it worked out for others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
So Easy and Sooooo Good. Enjoyed this with Vanilla Ice Cream, made exactly like recipe said and had no problems. This was a first for me making dessert in my slow cooker, but it won't be the last for me.....thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I make this same cake but I bake it in the oven for 45 to 50 minutes @ 350. It you are careful in pouring the butter over the cake mix, there is no dry area. I also add chopped pecans. You can also use apple filling and a yellow cake mix. You can also use no sugar filling and a sugar free cake mix for those people who can't consume sugar like myself and the taste is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyn
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. Made as per instructions. My only problem was there was a large clump of uncooked (dry) cake mix in the center. I wasn't going to let this defeat me. I mixed it up (only on the top) with the rest of the partially cooked cake and let go for another hour (4 hours total). The ooey gooey deliciousness was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I was a little skeptical about this...cake in a slow cooker? I used a 21 oz can of pineapple, but only half of the juice from it. I microwaved the butter and then stirred the juice in. Layered the pineapple, cherry pie filling, sprinkled the cake mix over it, and poured the juice/butter on it. After about 2 hours there were a few spots still dry on the top so I stirred them gently, put the lid back and slapped my hands to keep from messing with it any further. I kept tapping the top to see if it was springy after the 3 hours, but this doesn't set like a regular cake. Finally turned it off, grabbed a big spoon and plated a portion. Hubby had two. Obviously it was pretty good! Very wet like I imagine one of those molten cakes to be. But yummy good! Really sweet from the juice poured over the cake mix. I did use my 7 qt crockpot and it turned out fine. A smaller crock would most likely result in a higher cake. Stored the leftovers in a flat tupperware container, used spatula to get out of the crock. Leftovers warmed in microwave were just as good. This would be a good potluck spoon cake. I probably would not make this for at home, 3 hours is just too long to wait for cake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I tried this out following recipe exactly. There were areas of the cake that was still dry powder. It was like eating the mix from the box. Maybe it is the difference of crock pots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
The combination would have been good together, but this cake turned out nasty! I took it to a Sunday dinner and it was a flop! Maybe fix it a different way. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I didn't have any problems with this recipe--I didn't stir the butter/juice into the cake mix but simply poured it over. There were no unmixed portions. The cake part was densely chocolate and brownie like in texture. It was very good. Very good. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States