Unbelievably Easy Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I was a little skeptical about this...cake in a slow cooker? I used a 21 oz can of pineapple, but only half of the juice from it. I microwaved the butter and then stirred the juice in. Layered the pineapple, cherry pie filling, sprinkled the cake mix over it, and poured the juice/butter on it. After about 2 hours there were a few spots still dry on the top so I stirred them gently, put the lid back and slapped my hands to keep from messing with it any further. I kept tapping the top to see if it was springy after the 3 hours, but this doesn't set like a regular cake. Finally turned it off, grabbed a big spoon and plated a portion. Hubby had two. Obviously it was pretty good! Very wet like I imagine one of those molten cakes to be. But yummy good! Really sweet from the juice poured over the cake mix. I did use my 7 qt crockpot and it turned out fine. A smaller crock would most likely result in a higher cake. Stored the leftovers in a flat tupperware container, used spatula to get out of the crock. Leftovers warmed in microwave were just as good. This would be a good potluck spoon cake. I probably would not make this for at home, 3 hours is just too long to wait for cake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I tried this out following recipe exactly. There were areas of the cake that was still dry powder. It was like eating the mix from the box. Maybe it is the difference of crock pots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
The combination would have been good together, but this cake turned out nasty! I took it to a Sunday dinner and it was a flop! Maybe fix it a different way. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I didn't have any problems with this recipe--I didn't stir the butter/juice into the cake mix but simply poured it over. There were no unmixed portions. The cake part was densely chocolate and brownie like in texture. It was very good. Very good. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Some of the cake mix did not combine with the butter/juice mixture or cherries, so I stirred the entire contents of the slow cooker and ended up with a yummy, chocolatey-gooey dessert. It was even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Although it tasted good, the consistency was sticky and the dessert wasn’t attractive, so I won't serve it to company without tweaking. Next time I'll try combining the cake mix with the butter/juice mixture before spreading over the cherries in the crock-pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Hubby and kids really enjoyed this. Easy to put together. Hubby described it as a fudgy brownie more than cake. Next time I make it I think I will poke little holes in the cake mix before I add the butter/juice mixture. Mine was still a little powdery in the middle. Once I combined it with other areas of the dessert no one noticed and they ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
So easy and very very yummy! I wish it were just a tad bit more cake like, but I am not a good enough baker to know how to tweak it. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Cannot wait to try something so easy! How can you go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hanover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States