Unbelievably Easy Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was AWFUL!! There was no way of rescuing this.. it was simply a waste of cake mix and pie filling and pineapple. This didn't cook properly at all. It was more like chocolate soup. My husband loves chocolate (as do I) and it wasn't anywhere near edible. MAYBE if it was baked in the oven to begin with it MIGHT turn out somewhat edible but I did it in the slow cooker (following directions to a T) and when it didn't work I tried rescuing it by baking it in the oven. It was nothing but a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I bet if you bake it this cake would turn out great.. In the slow cooker mine didn't come out very well. I followed the recipe exactly but it was more like a bowl of goo than cake.. Maybe it would be good over ice cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I eagerly waited the 3 hours and was satisfyingly amazed. So easy, inexpensive, and absolutely yummy. It gave me the idea to use other fruits and other cake mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is killer easy and really delish! Especially wonderful with whipped cream and/or vanilla ice cream. Just keep the four basic ingredients in your pantry and anytime you need a no-fuss dessert, you're in business! Let it cook for you while you're busy pulling the rest of the dinner together and readying the house for company. How wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
So simple! So yummy! I didn't have cherry pie filling, so I used strawberry preserves. I don't think I used enough of it, because I couldn't really taste it. After about two hours, I stirred it to get the dry batter mixed in with the wet, and I also turned it up to high at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this and used the suggestion BusyCook made--I poked holes in the mix with a chop stick before pouring the butter mixture over it. My husband took it to work to share with his work group. It was a big hit, only one serving left--for me. It was moist throughout, very rich and balanced by the addition of whipped cream. Thank you for a great easy dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this cake, I mix the butter and pineapple juice with the cake mix ahead of time and layer it like the directions said left it for 3 hours and the house smells so good. And the cake even better then I thought please try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
When I made this cake I mixed the pineapple juice and butter mixture with the dry cake mix before placing it in the crock. It came out Fantastic. Adding is must though. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spangler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This desert was wonderful. It was more like a cherry brownie with pineapple . I used a 15 oz can of pineapple and I followed others advice and poked holes in the batter. It was even better the second day when I heated up the leftovers. Next time, I will completely stir the cake before serving. It was not pretty so be sure to add vanilla ice cream. (I also used devils food cake instead of plain chocolate cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Sorry to say but for me this just came out as a gooey mess. I had a few bites and my kids wouldn't eat it at all. Maybe I can try it a different way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States