Unbelievably Easy Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Oh my excellent cake!! Growing up with my mother as a baker . I'm very picky when it comes to cake I followed as others mixed the pineapple juice, butter and cake mix together added extra cherries. Next time I may add a little coconut flakes.. put my crock on low for 3 hours mine has a timer after the 3 it goes to warm automatically. Perfect!! I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Very easy to do! Substituted apricots for the pineapple with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is just a slow cooker version of a dump cake. For those that said some of the cake mix did not combine with the cake, there is an easy fix... place the cake mix in a large freezer bag and seal the top. use your hands to gently mash the cake mix and knead it to get out the lumps. I have even ran it through my ninja blender on low to make it lump free. Also I use more butter than the recipe calls for and make sure the entire cake is covered with pats of butter. Also make sure you use a good brand of pineapple like Dole, there is a difference when you use a good brand as opposed to a generic brand, believe me I've made them both ways. Also if you do not use a large enough can of pineapple it makes a difference too. It will never be like a regular cake no matter what you do to it short of making a regular cake as directed on the box. I think of it more of a cobbler consistency instead of a cake. Just a tip but you can also use Pillsbury's sugar-free cake mix for a healthier alternative and it tastes amazing! Another tip is DO NOT use cake mixes that say they have pudding in them, I have never had one come out right with this type of cake mix as it make the mix too moist. Just a standard cake mix works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I tried this,it was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. It turned out perfect, well almost perfect. The was one very small area of the dry mix. Next time I will either add more pineapple juice, and perhaps mix it a little. Our entire staff loved this. I think a nice scoop of vanilla ice cream would be heavenly with this. This recipe is effortless and mouthwatering! I plan to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
First of all, I altered this recipe according to some reviews I had read. Used a 1/4 c. butter rather than 1/2 c. and mixed pineapple juice and butter with the dry cake mix in separate bowl and then topped cherries with the moisened mix so as to avoid the potential for dry cake mix in the finished dessert. Overall I would say it was a success and definitely something I would make again. May tweak it more next time though to add more flavor. Nevertheless, I do recommend this recipe, especially topped with whipped cream or served with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Too sweet! Tasted like a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was an okay dessert, but I think that I prefer my moms version to this one. (her version is in an 13X9 cake pain dump cherries and pineapple dump dry cake mix on top and then use one stick of butter thinly sliced covering the entire top. it bakes on 325 for 30-40min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
VERY sweet, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Coenen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States