Unbelievable Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
A delicious dish that I modified slightly. As I steamed cooked my squash, I made a mixture of the other ingredients by omitting the cheese and adding shredded fresh carrots and sweet, succulent pimentos. I put a cup of the cornbread stuffing on the bottom of my 9x13 dish, added my squash mixture and then put another cup of the cornbread stuffing on top. Baked in the oven at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Whoooooooo, Buddy! Boy howdy, did this turn out great! My cat and I highly recommend that you use the cornbread stuffing over any other type of stuffing. I think I need to hit up my brother for some more fresh squash so I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very good recipe. I have made it several times since finding it on AllRecipe. The only thing I change is I mix half of the stuffing mix into the squash mixture and sprinkle the other half along with some shredded cheese on top of the casserole. The stuffing mix gives the casserole a nice flavor. I use cornbread or chicken stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Good! 8/4/12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy! I, too, added the about 4 oz of the 6 oz pouch of stuffing mix to the squash/onion mixture and it came out creamy good! The 2 oz of stuffing mixed with the cheddar cheese gave it a wonderful crunchy topping. Highly recommended as a great alternative to potatoes for a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was a delicious recipe! My only criticism is that it is a little vague in some areas for a non-cook like me. For example, it says to use 3 crookneck squash, but does not mention how much squash, exactly, that would be. I had one butternut squash, and was not sure what the relative size of a crookneck squash is to a butternut squash. I tried the recipe anyway, and it seemed to work well with one butternut squash. I also used half the sour cream, and a couple of tablespoons of cream cheese. I have tried this in a few recipes which call for sour cream, and I find it adds a nice sweetness without requiring much cream cheese at all. Everything else I did as suggested, and it was a hit! Because I did not mash the squash, but just mixed it well with the other ingredients, the casserole came out with almost a macaroni and cheese consistency. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome dish. I modified it by using ritz crackers instead of the stuffing mix. My mom doesn't care for squash but she sure loved this dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was good ! Next time I will use more squash , as this was very saucy . Thank you , MCOATES .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Yum! I loved this dish. I used butternut squash, a sweet potato, doubled the cheese and it turned out just perfect. Next time I will add more variety to the casserole (include some carrots, potatoes, and zucchini) and find better stuffing for the top. I used stove top due to time constraints for prep and noted that it had some bad ingredients that I try to steer clear of (high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils, etc.) Other than that, this dish will be made many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Yummy! I used fat free sour cream and added about half the cheese and stuffing mix to the squash mixture and topped the casserole with the other half of each. In addition, I didn't have cream of chicken soup so used cream of celery. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This truly is an UNBELIEVABLY good casserole. Made it for my non squash loving family and they all gushed over how delicious it was. Only change I made was to add some real crumbled bacon bits to the topping just because I had some and it sounded good. I will definitley make this again. It's the perfect side dish for a nice comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissacraddock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States