Unbelievable Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
A delicious dish that I modified slightly. As I steamed cooked my squash, I made a mixture of the other ingredients by omitting the cheese and adding shredded fresh carrots and sweet, succulent pimentos. I put a cup of the cornbread stuffing on the bottom of my 9x13 dish, added my squash mixture and then put another cup of the cornbread stuffing on top. Baked in the oven at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes. Whoooooooo, Buddy! Boy howdy, did this turn out great! My cat and I highly recommend that you use the cornbread stuffing over any other type of stuffing. I think I need to hit up my brother for some more fresh squash so I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Liberty, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy! I, too, added the about 4 oz of the 6 oz pouch of stuffing mix to the squash/onion mixture and it came out creamy good! The 2 oz of stuffing mixed with the cheddar cheese gave it a wonderful crunchy topping. Highly recommended as a great alternative to potatoes for a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very good recipe. I have made it several times since finding it on AllRecipe. The only thing I change is I mix half of the stuffing mix into the squash mixture and sprinkle the other half along with some shredded cheese on top of the casserole. The stuffing mix gives the casserole a nice flavor. I use cornbread or chicken stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
In spite of achieving a full five star rating at this time, had moderate expectations about this dish thinking it might be bland given no added spices and few ingredients. We were very pleasantly surprised as it made a tasty, versatile side dish, and simple to pull together. We added the optional cheddar cheese but otherwise made as written. We will definitely make this again. Thank you MCOATES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought they were a little bland. And there was to much bread crumbs on top. Next time I will season it more and use bread crumbs that are crushed and not put as much on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Yummy! I used fat free sour cream and added about half the cheese and stuffing mix to the squash mixture and topped the casserole with the other half of each. In addition, I didn't have cream of chicken soup so used cream of celery. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This truly is fabulous. Smells and tastes like Thanksgiving! It's great as is, but I like to chop up 2-3 chicken breasts and mix that in for a more hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valarie N Joseph Enos
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
So delicious! I used several types of squash, zucchini, patty pan, yellow crook neck. I also used cornbread stuffing and put 1/2 the stuffing mix in the squash mixture, the remaining over the top, and baked it in my cast iron skillet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie N Joseph Enos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I use zucchini and yellow squash. I shread the squash and mix everything together. Leave a little of the stuffing mix whole to crunch up smaller and sprinkle over the top before baking. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Yum! I loved this dish. I used butternut squash, a sweet potato, doubled the cheese and it turned out just perfect. Next time I will add more variety to the casserole (include some carrots, potatoes, and zucchini) and find better stuffing for the top. I used stove top due to time constraints for prep and noted that it had some bad ingredients that I try to steer clear of (high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils, etc.) Other than that, this dish will be made many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States