Unbelievable Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My wife loves squash. This is similar to hotdish from my youth, without the ground beef. I shredded the cheese with the coarse blade of my food processor and set it aside. Then the summer squash (4 cups). Shredding the squash second makes cleaning the disk easier. I fried the onion first, because the shredded squash cooks quickly. I suspect most kids would think the shredded squash was pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
JUST OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valarie N Joseph Enos
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
So delicious! I used several types of squash, zucchini, patty pan, yellow crook neck. I also used cornbread stuffing and put 1/2 the stuffing mix in the squash mixture, the remaining over the top, and baked it in my cast iron skillet. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie N Joseph Enos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I have tried different varities of this recipe, but this by far is the best. I will def be using this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
In spite of achieving a full five star rating at this time, had moderate expectations about this dish thinking it might be bland given no added spices and few ingredients. We were very pleasantly surprised as it made a tasty, versatile side dish, and simple to pull together. We added the optional cheddar cheese but otherwise made as written. We will definitely make this again. Thank you MCOATES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Basically, Cream of Chicken(or any other cream) makes almost anything taste great. Pretty good recipe. I really liked it. Tasty way to serve up your squash! I didn't use any sour cream as I just didn't have it but I found the casserole rich enough without it. Added 2 cups of chopped carrots. I also took the advice to add half of the breaded stuffing in with the casserole. All of it on top would of been too much. This goes into it might make again category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
kids loved it. I did not use cheese. It wasn't missed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is spectacular! My family loved this dish at Thanksgiving and I will serv it again at Christmas. I was asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome dish. I modified it by using ritz crackers instead of the stuffing mix. My mom doesn't care for squash but she sure loved this dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought they were a little bland. And there was to much bread crumbs on top. Next time I will season it more and use bread crumbs that are crushed and not put as much on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States