Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This was pretty good, at least the men in my family liked it a lot. I made my own dough, used low fat ricotta and only used one scant tablepoon of Italian seasoning which we felt was plenty for us. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe. We're big fans of calzones and we love spinach puffs at Greek restaurants, so I figured we'd like these. I made my own pizza dough and added 3 cloves of garlic. Then I put a jar of Ragu with some red wine on to simmer while they baked. They were an excellent dipped in red sauce. It was a great Sunday night meal that also fed my husband Monday and Tuesday while I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Loved these! I made the recipe and froze most of them to take out individually and bake. My three year old and I can pretty much share one for dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
These were FANTASTIC! I made them with the "Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust" from this site. I can't believe how many I ate... These are now my favourite calzones. The recipe makes a huge amount of filling. I had almost half left over, so DARN! - I had to make more the next day. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Make sure to roll out the dough pretty thin. Otherwise, there is a lot of dough in each calzone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Delicious! Thank you for the recipe! I will definately make it again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVENAG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rousse, Ruse, Bulgaria
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This was average. My husband didn't like it at all. I thought it was okay, but a bit bland, even when served with marinara sauce. If I made it again, I would definitely add garlic and perhaps some sauteed onion and/ or bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These were good - I think that they would be better with the addition of some garlic to the filling. Pretty easy if you don't mind rolling out the dough. Next time I will make sure that I have some marinara sauce on hand, I think that would make them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I doubled the recipe so we could freeze one calzone for later enjoyment. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a "T". Well, almost. I used frozen pizza dough instead of white bread dough, and made a tomato sauce dipping sauce to accompany the calzone. Based on other reviewers who said it needed garlic, I added a lot of garlic in the dipping sauce. Next time, I'll add the garlic to the spinach and ricotta mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Delicious! I followed the recipe except for the dough. I used Pillsbury Refridgerated Pizza Dough (one roll made 4 square calzones). It was really yummy & since I didn't have to roll out dough, it was really a quick meal to put together. Near the end of the cook time (it was definitely less than 30 minutes) I brushed egg white on the top to give it that glazed texture. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States