Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I actually used Pillsberry crescents instead of white bread! It worked great! It only cooked for about 20 minutes! You should cook it until the tops are a deeper brown, that way the bottoms get done perfectly! We actually paired this with a homeade fettucini! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
delicious! I did an egg wash on top and sprinkled with kosher salt and a little shredded parm. Ours were perfectly done after 26 minutes. For dipping, I made a sauce by pureeing 1 small sized can of plum tomatoes with a clove of garlic and some italian seasoning, then simmered while the calzones cooked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I used homemade pizza dough ("Pizza Dough II"), and in this case, the less-browned ones were better than the well-browned ones. I think the freshness of people's Italian seasoning makes a difference-- I opened a fresh bottle and 1 and 1/2 tbsp. of seasoning was plenty to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Unbelievably Good! I actually made a huge mistake, which thank goodness turned out great. I read the ingredients in the morning and decided to make this for dinner. I didn't see the word "dough" — duh! I thought it said "bread"! So, when it came time to make dinner, I forged ahead with my slices of whole wheat "bread". I rolled each piece out as thin as I could get it. I brushed the edges with an egg wash (added salt & pepper) and filled as per the directions. I placed them on my cookie sheet and brushed each calzone with more egg wash. It turned out great!!! I will definitely make this again, but I will have to decide if I should make the same mistake twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
my mother loved this recepie and so did my son, he does not like spinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I have made these at least 30 times with a few additions to the filling. I add 10 button mushrooms and cook then dice 3 chicken breasts. I place all the ingredients into my food processor and pulse it for about a minute. It ends up being a double batch, but I make 2 batches of pizza dough from my bread machine and after baking it all, I toss the leftovers into the freezer for another meal. I control how big I want them to be. I once served them as an appetizer, making them really small (although somewhat tedious) but everyone raved. My hubby likes these served with pizza sauce, my kids prefer ranch dressing. REALLY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My huband and I loved this recipe, I made a nice italian red sauce for dipping, top notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My entire family, aged 18 months to 29+ loved this recipe. I used canned pizza dough and fresh spinach instead of frozen. This was easy and delicious. An earlier reviewer suggested brushing egg whites on top, and it did add a nice shiny glaze to the calzone. This one is a great master recipe for a calzone. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANISAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This recipe was ok but it was nothing to rave about. Followed the recipe except for using pizza crust. Dipping them in spaghetti sauce made them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Definitely needs more bread, less filling, and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States