Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were really easy to make and tasted very good. I used my pizza dough recipe for my bread machine to make the dough. My husband thinks they would be even better with chicken - although we enjoyed them as they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made this for me and my bf, I ended up with a lot of extra filling so I baked it in a custard dish. I made my own pizza dough from scratch Mix 1 packet of yeast 1 teaspoon of sugar 1 cup of water (let sit for 10 min) 1 Tablespoon of olive oil 1 teaspoon of salt 3 cups of flour Let rise for 1 hour then follow the recipe as above. Turned out great. I also had a can of diced tomatoes simmer for the baking time and added some oregano and basil for dipping. I was out of canned marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorusgirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
My kids had "build your own calzone" night. I too used pizza crust and brushed egg over the top. I also used fresh spinach which I sautéed in olive oil and garlic. I found some organic (chicken) Italian sausage and pan fried that to go in the calzones. I followed the recipe for the cheese filling and had my kids help mix it. This was a really fun and easy dinner to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Really tasty! I used 2 tubes of ready made pizza dough and baked for 25 min. Next time I would use more spinach, less ricotta and only 1 egg. It was a little too quiche like for me. My guys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were really tasty, but be sure to flip them 1/2 way through - otherwise you'll end up with 1 doughy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ktkat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made these into bite-sized calzones. I had about half of the mixture leftover, so I would suggest doubling the amount of white bread dough to use all of it. I also baked it for half of the time. Add some marinara for dipping and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I used pre-made pizza dough, which made it super easy and they were yummy! I would probably coat the top with butter as another reviewer suggested since they do turn out a bit hard on top. Definitely didn't need 30 minutes cook time; as it was, the cheese was running out... So good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I didn't realize the recipe called for 2 lbs of dough; I had only bought 1 lb, but everything still came out fine. I made one long (log) calzone, and the top/middle was busting at the seams, but of course it didn't change the taste and just made it look that more appealing. I also added garlic powder to the filling but that would be optional to someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good, very easy-my kind of cooking. ;o) Tried the pizza crust and it worked perfectly. The elasticity of the dough let it stretch easily without tearing. Thank you, Wheatfields, for the delicious filling. Thank you, reviewers, for the pizza crust suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I really waned to like these, but I found them nothing special. I made them using the whole wheat and honey pizza dough recipe from this site instead of the canned dough the recipe calls for, but I doubt it made that much difference. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States