Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrkang206
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
So good I made it with home made pizza dough and an egg wash is highly suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made these with frozen bread dough, sauteed fresh spinach and added 4 cloves fresh garlic and a small onion sauteed. Tossed in some red pepper flakes and crumbled italian turkey sausage. Left out the ricotta cause I didn't have it handy, then wrapped each one with a few sliced roasted hot peppers. Yum gave it a four because I altered it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Berndt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Add broccoli, mushrooms and sausage. Made dough from Real Italian Calzones recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Quite good - also bought Pillsbury pizza crust (which was ok - a little like crescent rolls so might try another one next time). Forgot the parmesan and felt really stupid. This needs some dipping sauce - I had leftover spaghetti sauce and that really elevated this recipe from great to incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Yum!! Prepared exactly as written. We topped them with Ragu Traditional Pizza sauce. May try adding different ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This recipe was great! And easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Good! I added 8 oz sauteed mini bella mushrooms to this and used low fat cottage cheese in place of the ricotta. I also put some turkey pepperoni in some of the calzones. Before baking, brush with olive oil and sprinkle some fresh crushed garlic on top for a delicious garlic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I loved these, however not all of my kids would eat them. These are better than the ones I used to buy at the deli. I will keep this recipe for a long time and make them from time to time, definitely a keep recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
i LOVE this recipe !!! i make it exact. all 5 of my kids and my husband actualy loved it too(wich never happens) my 5 yr old has even requests it for dinner. anything to get them eating their vegies gets an A+ in my book :) THANKS for the AWESOME recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mericahanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chadwick, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The filling makes a big batch, so you can use it for a party or freeze what you don't use. We've turned calzone night into a party, everybody rolls out their own dough, adds their own ingredients and we hang out while they're baking. Makes for fun conversation and personality-typing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States