Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Filling was delicious! Dough was very bland. Maybe next time I'll sprinkle salt and parmesan cheeese on top before baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Fantastic - family loved it. I used whole wheat dough from the bakery at the supermarket (healthier). I substitued green peppers for spinach on my daughter's request. I would like to try to spinach next time. I served heated sauce on the side to dip cut up pieces in. Yum, yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
After reading other reviews, I made a few changes to this recipe and it turned out great (meaning my kids actually liked it) and it was pretty fast. First, I cut the recipe in half. Instead of buying different cheeses, I skipped the ricotta and just used a 2 cup package of shredded Italian cheeses. I also added some sauteed onions, garlic, and red pepper to the spinach mixture. I used way less of the Italian seasoning. Finally, I bought Pillsbury's thin crust pizza dough instead of bread dough. I realized that if I unrolled the dough and held it by the edges, it would stretch out on its own. Then I cut it into rectangles, filled half the rectangle, and folded over. My calzones weren't in the traditional form, but no one cared. I brushed the top with olive oil and added a bit of parmesan. Be careful with the baking time. My calzones only took about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe is simply delicious. I did end up using pizza dough (the thick crust kind) thanks to the tips of other. Before serving I poured marinara sauce on top and it was so tasty. Next time I think that I will use less Italian seasoning because it was quite strong. The cooking time was only about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
spinach mixture was great. we even personalized a few for the kiddos (turkey pepperoni, sausage, feta - etc) - the issue is with the dough. very thick as it is a bread - so if you can't get it rolled thin enough - you end up wasting most of the finished product to get to the good stuff. would be best with home made dough - but all in all good concept - not an easy throw together weekday dinner. this one takes some prep and good amount of clean up (dough, flour, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracidarden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These were wonderful and very quick to mix up. I used pizza dough as some suggested. I've always added a pinch of nutmeg to ricotta mixtures, so did so in this case as well. Lovely. Will try some of the variations suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We tried this the other night. I used the breadmaker to make whole wheat pizza dough for the bread part. They were great! I was estimating the spinach and the ricotta because the containers I bought were larger than the recipe called for. It seemed it could've used a bit more spinach. Other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Yummy.... used prego parmesean romano sauce to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made my own pizza dough, but other than that, followed the recipe. My family LOVED them, and the kids even ate the spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I gave it 2 stars because they were vey nice looking, but the taste was very bad. The cheeses were too bland and the overpowering flavor was the italian seasoning - way overpowering flavor. I used the freezer bread dough like the recipe called for and you really have to seal the edges good or they'll pop open while cooking. I would recommend doing an egg white wash on the tops before baking. The filling just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States