Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My entire family, aged 18 months to 29+ loved this recipe. I used canned pizza dough and fresh spinach instead of frozen. This was easy and delicious. An earlier reviewer suggested brushing egg whites on top, and it did add a nice shiny glaze to the calzone. This one is a great master recipe for a calzone. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANISAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This recipe was ok but it was nothing to rave about. Followed the recipe except for using pizza crust. Dipping them in spaghetti sauce made them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Definitely needs more bread, less filling, and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Marcotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very yummy and easy! We used Pillsbury thin crust pizza dough (2 tubes) for the crust and had enough for 4 people to eat two meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Filling was delicious! Dough was very bland. Maybe next time I'll sprinkle salt and parmesan cheeese on top before baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Fantastic - family loved it. I used whole wheat dough from the bakery at the supermarket (healthier). I substitued green peppers for spinach on my daughter's request. I would like to try to spinach next time. I served heated sauce on the side to dip cut up pieces in. Yum, yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
After reading other reviews, I made a few changes to this recipe and it turned out great (meaning my kids actually liked it) and it was pretty fast. First, I cut the recipe in half. Instead of buying different cheeses, I skipped the ricotta and just used a 2 cup package of shredded Italian cheeses. I also added some sauteed onions, garlic, and red pepper to the spinach mixture. I used way less of the Italian seasoning. Finally, I bought Pillsbury's thin crust pizza dough instead of bread dough. I realized that if I unrolled the dough and held it by the edges, it would stretch out on its own. Then I cut it into rectangles, filled half the rectangle, and folded over. My calzones weren't in the traditional form, but no one cared. I brushed the top with olive oil and added a bit of parmesan. Be careful with the baking time. My calzones only took about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe is simply delicious. I did end up using pizza dough (the thick crust kind) thanks to the tips of other. Before serving I poured marinara sauce on top and it was so tasty. Next time I think that I will use less Italian seasoning because it was quite strong. The cooking time was only about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
spinach mixture was great. we even personalized a few for the kiddos (turkey pepperoni, sausage, feta - etc) - the issue is with the dough. very thick as it is a bread - so if you can't get it rolled thin enough - you end up wasting most of the finished product to get to the good stuff. would be best with home made dough - but all in all good concept - not an easy throw together weekday dinner. this one takes some prep and good amount of clean up (dough, flour, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracidarden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These were wonderful and very quick to mix up. I used pizza dough as some suggested. I've always added a pinch of nutmeg to ricotta mixtures, so did so in this case as well. Lovely. Will try some of the variations suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John's Ham and Cheese Calzones

Exquisite homemade calzones loaded with lots of quality ham and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States