Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Love it! The only alteration I made was using jarred Classico Pesto for extra flavoring - about 1/4 or so. Makes it real good. We also top with sphagetti sauce. Thanks, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Otankis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Yummy! First time making calzones and it went well. I added some hot italian sausage, yellow squash, mushrooms and it was excellent. I like the ease with the premade dough but I had a hard time rolling it out. Maybe it was me but everytime I rolled the dough out it would bounce right back to it's tiny little shape. I also did not need to cut into 8 pieces only 4. Just for fun, I put marinara sauce in one calzone. It was good with and without it. Also I brushed some buttery garlic on top before baking. YUMMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Jewett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
4 and a half stars! Very good and easy to vary for different tastes. I had the recipe as is, but made my kids ones with pepperoni in them (and no spinach). Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The flavor was good, but it was a big mess. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good! I followed the recipe quite closely and it turned out great for my first time trying Calzones. I'm glad I read the other reviews because 20 minutes was definately enough and the brush with garlic butter kept it from getting hard. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
We didn't care much for these. If I made them again, I would add something more to the filling. Proscuitto, Ham, or Chicken for example. I think this filling is better off in a pasta shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was very good. I cut the recipe in half and it made 4 good-sized calzones. I think there's a typo with the amount of Italian seasoning to use. I used 1 teaspoon and it was just right. I also used the Pillsbury pizza crust (in the dairy section) and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This recipe was delicious but the white bread dough was very difficult to work with. I'm not sure if it was the brand I bought or what. But the outcome was really tasty. Instead of ricotta I used cottage cheese for a lighter alternative, and it didn't seem to take away from the calzones at all. The second night when we ate the leftovers, my husband thought it was "too much spinach" but he still ate it all. They need to be dipped in marinara for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Good recipe. I added extras to my spinach mix. I included garlic salt,extra parmesan cheese,mozzarella cheese and fresh parsley& basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Garvin-Owsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Pretty good made following the recipe (somewhat dry), but it was way better the second time I made it--added more cheese (mixture of chedder/jack, and extra mozzarella) and a package of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States