Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
These were pretty good. I agree with other reviewers that they were a bit bland and could use some garlic and onion salt. Instead of the frozen bread dough, I used jiffy pizza crust mix (I box for 2 calzones). I also added pepperoni. Even after brushing the calzones with olive oil, the crusts got crunchy, so I would suggest being very generous with the application.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great tasting recipe. I used the 10 oz. package of frozen spinach and the loaf of frozen bread, but halved the rest of the ingredients, and ended up with just a large amount to fill the 8 pieces of dough. The dough was easy enough that my seven year old granddaughter rolled out the eight pieces of dough. She really enjoyed herself and was very proud that she was able to do it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
These were really great! My whole family liked them. I used refrigerated pizza dough and I used 3T fresh mixture of oregano, basil, garlic chives and thyme and 1T dried Italian seasoning and I thought that was right on with the spices. I also cut up a spicy brat and added that to the mix which was really good. And I added 1/2T mayo and a dash of hot pepper sauce like other reviewers suggested. I like pizza dough spread really thin on these, otherwise they seem to bready to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
We loved these! I added chopped tomato to some of them. Wouldn't recommend it as the liquid would allow the dough to seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
very good recipe- i did make a slight adjustment adding sausage and using a refrigerated pizza roll, but followed everything else as stated. after some effort, was able to coax a 5 year old to try it despite the "green stuff" and it disappeared within minutes. used excess dough to make breadsticks. served with a cucumber & tomato salad. delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a great recipe. Did not have spinach so I subbed it with broccoli. Very good. Will make again with pepperoni and cheese and get pizza sauce for dipping. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I added feta cheese so I could call it a four cheese calzone. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I'll admit I changed this up a lot to suit our personal tastes, but the results were great! Added meat and onions, and omitted some of the cheese. Brushed the top with garlic butter for some added flavor.. We'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
REVISED: I made these once before and my husband wasn't crazy about them; he said they tasted too much like ricotta cheese. However, I made them again for myself and the kids and whaddya know, they were delicious! All four kids gobbled them up! I made them just as the recipe stated with the addition of sauteed onion and garlic. Turns out it's just my husband who's crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
5 stars for this one because it's extremely simple to make and tastes great. Simplicity is one of my biggest factors when it comes to cooking dinner. We ate this with Ragu sauce. Next time I will cook these a little longer, as mine were doughey in spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States