Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I've never made calzones before.. so, I was nervous going in. I added a tablespoon of chopped garlic. The calzones turned out lovely. Looked very presentable. My boyfriend suggested adding Italian sausage. Along with another reviewer, I think adding mushrooms would be phenomenal. Just need to find your own taste preference. Overall, I loved this recipe and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
A great recipe - loved it. I added 1/3 cup of feta cheese to the filling and reduced the same amount of ricotta. A local bakery sells frozen pizza dough (about 24 ounces each). I defrosted one, and cut it into 6 pieces - it was a delicious crust for the calzone. It sealed well (I crimped the edges with a fork) and it wasn't too ' bready.' I used about 1/2 cup of filling on each calzone - I still have quite a bit left over - I'm going to use it to make turnovers with some phyllo dough leftover from another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Very good recipe! I used Pillsbury refrigerated pizza crust instead of the frozen bread dough and I like the texture that you end up with. Other additions that I recommend would be a dash of garlic powder (to taste) and any other good additions to the filling that you have around (black olives, mushrooms, etc). Very good meal to pull together rather quickly when you want something filling and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is the fistrecipe I cooked , easy too make ,tasty I took the suggestion and I used easy pizza dough (pillbury) I did enjoy cooking this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelMaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My husband and I loved this! I did make some modifications. I scaled this recipe to four servings and with my additions below I had enough filling for 8 servings. Additions: 1/2 tsp. each of garlic powder and onion powder, 2 handfuls of fresh sliced mushrooms, and 1 (2.25oz) can of sliced black olives. I used a (13.5)can of Pillsbury pizza,but should have used two cans because I had a quart of filling leftover. Used an ice cream scooper to dish the filling onto 4 inch circles of dough. I did brush each calzone with olive oil and sprinkled Parmesan cheese on top. Served with pureed marinara sauce. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
We did not care for this. if you use the new dough that says just to roll it out it was very very very difficult to do that. nobody like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was so good! I ate it with warmed pizza sauce... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Really Yummy- I used Pillsbury Pizza Dough and that was great! Everyone loved it when I made it on a football Sunday. I added meatballs and pepperoni to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
These are so good. One of the few recipes you don't need to change anything. They are truly unbelievable!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Didn't think it was all that special. My husband couldn't even eat his, but he's kinda picky. Good for one dinner, but probably will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States