Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have made these rolls twice, following the recipe exactly and they have been amazing both times. I have not had any problems with stickiness of the dough - which may be because I'm a more experienced bread baker - and find it easy to knead into a silky soft dough. Easiest rolls I've ever made; very light and full of yeasty, delicious flavor. I do like to brush the tops with an egg wash before baking to get a shiny golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! I used half white and half wheat flour, added some gluten, and made Navajo tacos. They fried up very nice and was perfect for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made these for the first time but used 3 cups whole wheat flour & 2 cups white flour. They turned out great! I will try all white flour next time since, come on, that's the best :) Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I'm an avid baker, and I wanted to try something new. I chose this one due to the many reviews. The rolls did not rise as much as I would have liked, and when I baked them, they came out too dense and heavy. Perhaps it's because I had to add so much extra flour. I did not add more than a cup, but apparently, it was still too much. The dough was way too sticky and difficult to work with. I'm deleting this recipe from " recipe box".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMMB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to make the rolls we had in school in the 80's well this is it love them and so does my whole family took me back to high school
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Here's the thing, these rolls taste like some of the popular steak house rolls which is a good thing; while I like a sweeter roll now and then, I don't want sweet ones all the time. These are somewhat difficult of a dough to work with; due to stickiness and adding flour. I added about 1 1/2 cups more flour and still sticky. May be somewhat daunting for "baking newbies." I'm an avid baker so just giving a little advice. Please read other reviews for help with these before tackling them as you will need some tips. I baked a larger cake panful with sides touching and also buns on a sheet pan. The cake pan ones rose beautifully, but the ones on the pan were not as high as I would have liked. Next time, I will try letting them rise longer. Hopefully, that will take care of the problem. My yeast was fine. The method is odd and interesting for making them and the flavor is quite good. But they may be too sweet for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I wouldn't call these unbelievable but they are pretty good. An improvement on a lot of the bread recipes that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe!I did not have to make any changes. Good roll for a sandwich that has some sharp flavor to it,...mustard, smoked ham, cheddar cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Used this dough for cinnamon rolls and they were amazing! It was such an easy dough. Can't wait to try it for rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I couldn't find one thing wrong with this recipe! And that's the truth. I prepped this recipe for several batches and found that I tweaked a step...didn't change any of the ingredients nor did I remove any ingredients. I did follow the process of steps. However, sifted my flour before making my well. I lightly beat my eggs and tempered them with the hot wet millk mixture, so that the eggs weren't thrown into the wet mixture and started cooking before the recipe was fully mixed. Then added the yeast to the mixture and THEN poured into the well...6 batches of rolls later. Every one of my batches were light, fluffy, flavorful and lightly brushed with butter as the exited the oven! I will make again...no more brown and serve store bought rolls EVER again. I made these into Parkerhouse shaped rolls and various other twisty shapes. Recommend Recommend!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States