Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I had tried to make rolls and failed. I made these and my kids loved them. thankyou for giving me a recipe that is fail safe. donnaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe many times over about a 14 year period, It is absolutely a wonderful recipe for rolls and very versatile, I usually make a crescent type roll with it by rolling 1/2 the dough into a circle, then using my pizza cutter to cut the circle of dough in half then in quarters and depending on the size of the circle cut quarters into thirds or halves. If you want them more like Croissants then you can make flaky layers by spreading butter (not margarine) on the circle then folding in half spread butter then fold again repeat then roll into a circle again, you will have layers and the rolls will be more flaky. When you cut the circle into pieces and are ready to make your rolls roll from the larger side of the wedge. make sure than the point is down against the pan, Baking time is about the same 12 to 15 minutes watch closely after 12 minutes, ovens vary. Enjoy, we do, my Grandson requests these rolls. When making I follow the recipe exactly, except for what I choose as a method of presentation. ALTHOUGH I do after reading some of the other reviews agree that leaving the salt out until after the proof or proofing the yeast first with out the addition of salt. Makes for a better dough. The possibilities with this recipe are absolutely endless it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great recipe for experienced cooks and those not in high altitude areas. I made them and substituted only one thing...margarine is out of the question. Using butter means it actually bakes into the rolls much better, IMHO. I really like recipes for experienced cooks so this was quite simple to me but it is not for someone who doesn't know what temperature "warm" is for adding yeast. Also, the temperature in your kitchen and the humidity level can all affect the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I just made these for the first time and they turned out FANTASTIC! I halved the recipe, making 8 rolls and they came out amazing! I am new to baking breads and have tried a couple other recipes with little success (they were usually too tough or didn't rise properly). I kneaded the dough for quite a while, until it was rather blistery in appearance and then I brushed them with some melted butter before baking. They came out absolutely light and fluffy. Even halving the recipe the rolls came out quite large, about the size of hamburger buns! They're going to be great with clam chowder for dinner tonight! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Had to add a bit more flour, but overall very tasty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Turned out awesome. It was my first time making buns at home with out any help. Came out with great taste super soft inside and just the perfect amount of softness. I cheated and used quick rise yeast because its all i had on hand. I was worried that they would come out right because of it but by just leaving it rest for 10 minutes for the first two resting times they came out just right. They cooked up a lot faster in my oven and browned up more than I would have liked but I'm sure thats my ovens fault. I rubbed butter on when taking them out to keep the tops nice and soft. Will definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was my first bread attempt, and they came out awesome! I did have to google the correct temperature that the liquids should be before adding the yeast, otherwise the recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
These rolls are unbelievable. It was my third try to make rolls and the first two recipe did not work but this one taste great and soft. My family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
The crust turns out tough and hard, the flavor was fine but I was looking for a soft bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Just made these rolls for the first time. They turned out beautill and taste delicious. The only change I made was to use real butter instead of margarine and I used my bread machine to mix the ingredients. I just hearted the liquids a little in the microwave before putting it in the machine and then added all the other ingredients. You might have to add a little more flour to get beyond the real sticky stage. You can let the dough rise in the bread machine or put it in a bowl to rise. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites list. Thank you for sharing it, Sherlie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 513) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States