Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Here's the thing, these rolls taste like some of the popular steak house rolls which is a good thing; while I like a sweeter roll now and then, I don't want sweet ones all the time. These are somewhat difficult of a dough to work with; due to stickiness and adding flour. I added about 1 1/2 cups more flour and still sticky. May be somewhat daunting for "baking newbies." I'm an avid baker so just giving a little advice. Please read other reviews for help with these before tackling them as you will need some tips. I baked a larger cake panful with sides touching and also buns on a sheet pan. The cake pan ones rose beautifully, but the ones on the pan were not as high as I would have liked. Next time, I will try letting them rise longer. Hopefully, that will take care of the problem. My yeast was fine. The method is odd and interesting for making them and the flavor is quite good. But they may be too sweet for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I wouldn't call these unbelievable but they are pretty good. An improvement on a lot of the bread recipes that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe!I did not have to make any changes. Good roll for a sandwich that has some sharp flavor to it,...mustard, smoked ham, cheddar cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Used this dough for cinnamon rolls and they were amazing! It was such an easy dough. Can't wait to try it for rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I couldn't find one thing wrong with this recipe! And that's the truth. I prepped this recipe for several batches and found that I tweaked a step...didn't change any of the ingredients nor did I remove any ingredients. I did follow the process of steps. However, sifted my flour before making my well. I lightly beat my eggs and tempered them with the hot wet millk mixture, so that the eggs weren't thrown into the wet mixture and started cooking before the recipe was fully mixed. Then added the yeast to the mixture and THEN poured into the well...6 batches of rolls later. Every one of my batches were light, fluffy, flavorful and lightly brushed with butter as the exited the oven! I will make again...no more brown and serve store bought rolls EVER again. I made these into Parkerhouse shaped rolls and various other twisty shapes. Recommend Recommend!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
The magic of yeast and flour (and sugar)! I will repeat what many reviewers mentioned about the lightness, fluffyness, and flavor. I used butter instead of margarine and coated my baking pan with butter. These rolls were fabulous! I also needed to add at least 1 1/2 cups of additional flour to the final kneading process due to the stickiness and the dough was still somewhat sticky, but this must be the secret as others have said. I doubled my recipe because I wanted to freeze some rolls. It was harder to work with so much dough and I kept running out of baking trays, but believe me, it was worth it. With so much dough, I made my rolls BIG! This is a wonderful recipe and there is no need to look elsewhere. I will be making these again. Thank you Sherlie for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I have terrible luck with yeast breads and these were simple with excellent results. Do be careful with the temp of the heated ingred...and watch the baking time, I had to pull mine out at 13 min. I followed the recipe exactlly and I am really pleased with the product....try 'em even if you are breadphobic like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mightylace
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
By far the easiest recipe for rolls I've ever come across and absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making these again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightylace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glenville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My 20 yr old son made these for Easter. They were incredible. The best rolls he's made yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I've been looking for years for a bread recipe with just right amount of yeast taste and sweetness to replicate rolls we used to have at school lunch when our schools all had their own cooks and kitchens and made their own bread. This is it! I make the rolls in aluminum cake pans and can get two dozen out of this recipe. I have discovered that I need to add quite a bit of extra flour when I start mixing--up to 1 1/2 cups. These are amazingly delicious and easy. I made them for family meals at Thanksgiving and Easter this year and my family loves them. I have taken them to church meals and gotten compliments on them. They also remind me of the rolls at the Liberty Tree Tavern in the Magic Kingdom at Disney World. They would be great with some plum butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States