Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by mightylace
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
By far the easiest recipe for rolls I've ever come across and absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making these again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightylace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glenville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
My 20 yr old son made these for Easter. They were incredible. The best rolls he's made yet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I've been looking for years for a bread recipe with just right amount of yeast taste and sweetness to replicate rolls we used to have at school lunch when our schools all had their own cooks and kitchens and made their own bread. This is it! I make the rolls in aluminum cake pans and can get two dozen out of this recipe. I have discovered that I need to add quite a bit of extra flour when I start mixing--up to 1 1/2 cups. These are amazingly delicious and easy. I made them for family meals at Thanksgiving and Easter this year and my family loves them. I have taken them to church meals and gotten compliments on them. They also remind me of the rolls at the Liberty Tree Tavern in the Magic Kingdom at Disney World. They would be great with some plum butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Wow. I made these with half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour, and they were AMAZING. I forgot to grease the pan so they stuck a little, but they still came out okay and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Pretty much the easiest roll recipe I've ever made. The rising & baking time is very short, unlike most recipes. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very unusual method, but it works. Dough did not seem to rise much when on counter, but did rise while baking. Very different roll. Had the taste of a baking powder biscuit (don't know how with no baking powder) but the texture of a yeast roll. Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The best EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Had a lot of fun making this with a friend of mine they were really easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were everything I wanted in a roll. They tasted great and were pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I've made these twice. I followed the recipe per the previous review. - proof your yeast for 5 minutes in warm (like bath water) water with a tablespoon of the sugar required for the recipe. I then heated up my milk in the microwave for about 40 seconds and added the eggs, remaining sugar and milk to my yeast. I accidentally (this last time) added in the melted butter before you had to let the yeast mixture sit in the flour for 20-30 mins. I also make sure my flour is room temp or warm. I keep my flour in the freezer, so I take out the 5 cups and heat it up in the microwave until its warm to the touch (I heat it 30 seconds, take it out and stir and heat again for another 30 seconds, repeat as necessary) and then add my yeast mixture once you create a funnel in the flour. I then follow the recipe as stated. When I let it rise I preheat my oven to 100 degrees and let it sit in the oven. I think next time I'll add a touch more salt. I like to have my rolls a little buttery/salty. I suppose you could also add salt into the melted butter that you can spread on top of the rolls when they are finished. This is a fantastic recipe! Last year I tried at least 5 different times to make yeast rolls. This was the first recipe that I actually succeeded at :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States