Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I proofed my yeast and it was very foamy, and otherwise, followed the directions. The rolls didn't rise much after I rolled them into balls and placed them on the cookie sheet. I let them sit in a warm place but after about 40 minutes, I decided to bake them. They didn't rise really at all in the oven. They wouldn't have been too bad, but they had no flavor other than a mild sweetness. It was an odd taste for a dinner roll. What saved them was I took the remaining dough (I only made a dozen small rolls) and made sticky buns with some of it, and monkey bread with the other part. I let those sit in a warm place for another hour or so, and they rose some more. (maybe the added warm sauce they were in helped?)Anyway, as sticky buns, they were great. The monkey bread was also good, according to my husband. I was too busy eating sticky buns to taste the monkey bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I am not that good at making rolls, but I have to say I tried this recipe and the rolls came out excellent. Light and tender melt in your mouth good. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle. I warmed the milk, sugar, water and salt in the microwave first making sure it warm and not hot, then I added the eggs and then the yeast. Then the flour and butter and they came out great. If I did this wrong you would never know it because they were Super Good. This is a keeper and I will make again and again. Thanks Sherlie! I may try cinnamon rolls next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Half way through making this recipe I decided to read some reviews on it, because it has a couple of unconventional ways of making bread. So I wanted to see what other people had to say about it. I got a little worried, but my batch did come out fluffy and rich and delicious. If I was just judging on flavour and texture this recipe would get a 5, but because the instructions were not very detailed, I found myself doing a bit of guess work. 1. The yeast wasn't proofed before adding to the dry ingredients, so if your yeast happens to not work for what ever reason, the whole batch would be ruined. 2. The water and milk heated on the stove doesn't mention how hot. I guessed lukewarm because every other yeast recipe uses lukewarm liquid to activate the yeast, too hot would kill the yeast. I also tempered beaten eggs with the warm milk because I wanted to avoid scrambling. 3. The dough turned out to be more of a batter, I added 1c extra of flour just to get it to look like a very sticky dough, definitely to wet to knead by hand, so I mixed it in a stand mixer for about 3-5min, just until it looked like it was fully incorporated. If I was to make this recipe again, I think I would tweak it to the point where its a whole new recipe. All in all it produced very tasty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This recipe turned out great! A few things i did different, i added the salt to the flour instead of the milk mixture and i used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 3 cups all purpose flour. They came out perfect and when it came time to knead i only added about 1/2 cup flour to it. A couple helpful hints: 1)make sure your milk mixture is at a good temp, too hot will kill your yeast, too cold and it wont poof, if its expired it wont serve any purpose! 2)before you start kneading rub a little vegetable oil on your hands to keep the dough from sticking completely to your hands.3)when you knead your dough, make sure the surface you are kneading on is cold, otherwise your dough WILL stick to it! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These are the most amazing rolls I've ever had and my husband and daughter agree! I was a bit confused with the directions so I fussed my way through, took advice from other comments, and can't believe how wonderful they came out. I added the milk mixture to the flour and mixed it a little, then added melted butter and mixed all the way. I needed quite a bit of extra flour to get it less sticky and then let it rise in the oven with the light on. After 30 minutes, I took the dough out but couldn't roll it because it was still too sticky. I did the best I could and figured they'd look like drop bisquits. They came out awesome though, just huge. They browned beautifully but I still sprayed butter on them when I took them out of the oven. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
One thing I did was to use an instant read thermomater to check my milk/water/sugar mixture before adding my yeast. I made sure it was around 110 degrees and my eggs at room temperature as well. I put my oven on the lowest setting before making my rolls and warm the bowls as well. I also sifted the salt into the flour using a large, fine sieve mixing it through with a whisk to get it thoroughly mixed in. I also used real unsalted butter instead of margarine as I don't care to use that much margarine. Sure it's more fat, but it's healthier than the chemicals in margarine. These proofed well and needed very little kneading. They came out light and fluffy and nice, shiny brown from an egg wash. I froze some as it made too much for us to use up in just a few days, but the ones I had left over that I only refrigerated were actually better the second and third days! I can't wait to make cinnamin rolls and savory rolls with this recipe. Good recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
added 1 tbsp honey and used dazedoo's method to make these rolls, they are pretty quick to make, as far as breads go I made half rolls and put the other half of the dough in a loaf pan. I sliced up the loaf bread and make some yummy croutons with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried the recipe twice and was disappointed each time. The end result was not light and fluffy, maybe the yeast I used was out of date. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love to make rolls/bread and have tried dozens of recipes. This is unbelievable. Do exactly what it says and do not let any liquid get too hot - over 120 degrees. It is not as warm as you think so get a therometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States