Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I didn't have any luck with this recipe. I've made buns several times and a lot of bread in the past and I've never had a failure like this. I followed the recipe exactly but they didn't turn out very well. The buns wouldn't roll into balls on the counter so they weren't smooth at all. I found them to have a strange taste to them too - I don't know if it was yeast but whatever it was, it wasn't good. After making a pan of buns I decided to try a small loaf of bread and a few cinnamon buns as well. The bread rose nicely but I don't like the way it tastes. The cinnamon buns were the only thing that turned out decently, but things usually do when they're covered in sugar and butter. lol I really wanted to like this recipe because it was easy but it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great recipe!! Looked great and tasted great too! My first time make homemade rolls. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CONSTANCE_007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were oh-so-yummy!! This was my first time making bread and they were delicious. My husband thought they were great too! Will definitely be making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Nice texture, but not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
They were definitely light and fluffy, but they were a little too sweet for my taste and tasted really "yeasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These are SUPER EASY and lovely. I hate to rate these at all as I made quite a few changes, but honestly, so good. The family is BEGGING for more, but they have to wait until supper. ;) I used part whole wheat flour plus a couple Tbsp. vital wheat gluten to lighten them up. Also, cream in the place of milk. And I totally forgot to add the 1/2 cup fat (of which I used a combo of butter and shortening) to the mixture before I stirred it all together, so I just poured the melted fats over the already mixed dough and used my hands to fully incorporate it in the bowl, then kneaded it for less than 5 minutes on an unfloured counter top...with all the grease, no flour was necessary!! I returned it to the bowl for the 20 minute raise, overturned it on my already greased counter, cut it into 16 portions, rolled each piece around under a cupped hand on the counter top for perfectly rounded rolls, placed 1 inch apart on a parchment lined cookie sheet, covered loosely for the final 30 minute raise. I brushed it with an egg wash and baked for the 15 minutes suggested. Perfect! Perfect! Ok, texturally, PERFECT. Flavor-wise, these are a bit on the sweet side. Easily modified, but for those who have a dislike for sweet bread with your... soup, for example, this might not be the recipe you are looking for. Just sayin'. UPDATE: Made these again for Easter dinner using only 1/4 cup sugar and they were PERFECT - texturally and tastefully perfect! LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These Rolls where easy to make and I enjoyed making them. My family loved these. Thank you so much for submitting your recipe Sherlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made these for the first time today & they came out wonderfully light and fluffy. They look EXACTLY like the ones pictured here. The only thing I would do different is add more salt or sugar (as my family likes bread with more of a distinct flavor). I might even try cheese or garlic next time. As did another reviewer, I let my yeast sit in warm water & a tbsp of sugar before I mixed it with the other ingredients ("just-in-case"). Other than that, I followed everything to the T. Also, I wasn't sure what the difference was b/w using an egg wash & just butter, so I tried half with butter on top & the other with egg wash. The egg wash made the bread brown faster and quite shiny. The butter required a longer cooking time to make the rolls come out brown...but not much shine. It also made it crispier/flakier on top (I think). Either way, they both came out really good. Thank you so much for the recipe! P.s.: I didn't knead the dough for very long either. Just added flour & kneaded until no longer too sticky. Then stuck back in the bowl for another 30 minutes. Amazingly easy for this first time roll maker! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Wow these really are fool proof! If I can make them, then anyone can! I thought for sure they were going to be awful as the dough hardly rose, and I'm pretty sure I didn't knead long enough, but sure enough those little babies went in the oven and came out looking like bakery ones! Tasted great too! a little yeasty but I can deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States