Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These were SO EASY and delicious! I used 1.5t regular yeast, 2T brown sugar, 1/4c coconut oil for 1/2 the recipe & a plastic bowl with a lid as suggested. I baked the 8 sandwich sized rolls in the toaster oven at 400*, but covered the tops with foil after 7 minutes, as they were browned enough. The top of the plastic mixing bowl kept popping off during the "rests", but the dough didn't rise too much (I guess the gas from the yeast was doing it?). The dough was easy to handle and I will definitely make it again, even for burger/hot dog buns because it's so quick & easy. Thank you so much, SHERLIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen LC
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
The recipe is good. I did a couple of things differently. One, I only added the salt near the end with the melted margarine as salt is a yeast killer. Two, I brushed melted butter on them as soon as they came out of the oven to keep the tops soft. Due to the high temperature and high sugar content, it browned very quickly and I took it out after 15mins exactly. In my opinion, it's a bit sweet to be a dinner roll. It would make an awesome breakfast roll with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed recipe exact but it turned out like hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
SHERLIE .I have to say ,these are the best ever rolls, i am in my late 60 s and been baking brad and rolls all my adult life.But in the last year. something went wrong,I couldn't turn out a good roll no matter how hard i tried half went to the animals. So today I made these, there is not one left.They turned out so wonderful, thanks for posting them i will make them all the time now. Elvira
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made these rolls multiple times to try to perfect them. I've found that this recipe is hot or miss. When they come out well, they are delicious; when they don't...well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These are excellent!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
We thought these buns tasted great. I used my kitchenaid stand mixer and needed a scant quarter cup more flour while it was kneading. I only used 1/3 cup sugar. Next time I will divide the dough into more than 16 portions; they made pretty big buns!I let the dough rise in the oven with the light on and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
these rolls are awesome my feonce loves them!! and hes a picky eater. the only problem i had was the bottoms burned, but i did bake them on wax paper so that probably has something to do with it. so note to anyone new trying this recipe *DO NOT BAKE ON WAX PAPER!* other than that i'm not the best cook in the world but these tasted really good :) i will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
These are amazing! I've made them twice now, and both times they were fantastic. I warmed up the milk mixture in the microwave till just warm, added the yeast to it right away. Other than that, and this time I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 4 cups white flour, I followed the recipe exactly as written. No kneading at all, and most of the time is just waiting for the dough to rise. Yes, the dough is a little bit sticky, but I think that may be why they are so good! Don't worry, they get light and airy as they rise the second time. They make 16 LARGE buns, or you can even make 24 smaller dinner roll sized buns. They are light with a little hint of sweetness. A very easy and adaptable recipe. I may try adding herbs or cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Prepared as written - not so much success. Read the reviews and proofed yeast first, turned out great. Have experimented using this as a base and have made as rolls and bread with cheese, nuts, whole grains all turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States