Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
OMG! It's my first time making them and I FINALLY found MY bun recipe! LOVE it! Thank you for sharing! Caroline M Caron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Bloomer Wine
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Absolutely amazing rolls. I make them with full milk and with Trumps High Gluten (bread) flour. It add a little more structure to the roll. I make these all the time at a 1/2 recipe strength in my bread machine, but I proof the yeast and milk and sugar and butter first and pour it in last. So, I layer high gluten bread flour at 2.5 cups, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 egg, 3/4 c warm milk/yeast (2.5 tsp)/sugar (1/4 cup)/butter (1/2 stick, or 1/4 cup) mixture. Warm as a hot shower, but not to scalding temps. Use dough setting. Would make a great pizza dough too, with reduced sugar. Watch the bottom, it burns FAST. Pizza stone seems to work best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Wine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are THE BEST ROLLS EVER. ever. ever! I have been making rolls for about 5 years and have never made a roll like these. They are hugely fluffy, golden on top, and flavorful. They're even good the next day (and the next) which is sometimes hard with homemade breads. I do make 1 minor adjustment: I substitute 2 of the cups of flour with bread flour. I've also made this recipe with less yeast (about 4t.) and I've skipped the last rising time (in a rush) and they're just as good. Also, I've made these for Thanksgiving dinner and everybody raves about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This recipe turned out great for me the first time, but not so good the second. However, that is only because I did something very different the second time. The first time was on thanksgiving and I had to cold put them in the fridge after the last rising while I waited for the oven to be empty. The second time I didn't do that. So the next time I make them I will add about thrity extra minutes before they are baked to cold proof them. My husband couldn't complain about them at all on thanksgiving and the kids were still loving them the next morning. They turned out golden and moist and done (for me that's a challenge) with the cold proofing. I recommend the cold proofing to anyone who tries this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Use these instructions in lieu of Step One: Combine the 3/4 warm water (from the tap works fine; it needs to be around 110° give or take) and 1tsp of the sugar, then sprinkle the 5tsp of yeast on top of it to "proof" the yeast. All this means is that you're "proving" that the yeast will work. If it's active, it will all foam up within 10 mins. If it doesn't foam, your yeast is probably dead and your rolls won't rise. Heat the milk to around 110°, beat the remaining sugar (I cut it down to 1/4 cup) and 2 eggs into it, then mix it with the proofed yeast. Follow the recipe instructions beginning with step two. If you reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup or less, you can make lots of great things, like: Garlic rolls Little pizzas (breadier than pizza dough, but it works) Cheese rolls Honey butter rolls Cinnamon rolls Pecan rolls Quick and easy recipe, considering these are raised rolls! Cinnamon rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These turned out fine, I just prefer a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RhaunDel
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I followed dazeedoo's instructions to put the yeast in water first and the rolls turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Just what my taste buds wanted. It was easy and I had no problem. Only thing is, I didn't realize how much the recipe made. It was enough maybe for 10-15 people and it was just the two of us. I froze the remaining batch. Reading is fundamental...hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was my first time making rolls and loved the recipe it was simple to make and whole family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Re Jman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My hubby wanted to know where I bought the rolls and really didn't believe I made them! They were really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States