Unbelievable Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Donna Lynn Broom
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this recipe in mini muffin pan- came out great! Only cooked for 15 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lynn Broom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is the Best recipe I have used. I tried lisa910 recipe with pre heating the pans and lowering the temp after 20min and they didn't rise as high as this recipe. This is a 5 star recipe to me!! Love it I Wouldn't Change A Thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Loved these-accidentally made easier! Mix batter, spray cold muffin tin with pam, put pat of butter in each of 8-9 cups, then pour batter right over butter to half full. Bake at 450 for 15 mins, then 375 for 10 to 15 or until as browned as u like. The butter melts and rises to surface as it bakes, just like when you melt it first. These were just right, brown and a bit crisp on outside, soft and tender on inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
all you need is a buttered muffin tin and if you use pan drippigs instead of greasing and flouring you be amazed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made mine sweet like an after dinner popover....I thought the batter was absolutely runny.I followed steps to a tee , saying that i added a half a cup of flour couple dashes of cinnamon and some vanilla extract ....tasted it and it still needed something so i added about a cup of brown sugar they turned out so delicious moist and light and sweet (not too sweet) . ill definitely use my spin off on this, delicious popper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
so goood! im going to try to make these every holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This is my family's traditional recipe - and I use 100 year old pans. The recipe is very dependent on the oven. The expansion is based on quickly cooking the top, which captures the steam. With a quickly heating oven, a cool pan and oven work well - the top seals while the pan is still cool. If the oven is slow to heat, the pan and the oven will need to be preheated, and they might not pop quite as high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were just alright. I did preheat the pan with a little butter. They didn't rise like my mom's popovers. She's gone so I cannot ask her advice. I will, however, try again and this time bring the milk and eggs to room temperature first. Maybe that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The taste was ok but somewhat "eggy". I was excited when I first looked into the oven and saw how high the dough had risen but by the time I looked again they had deflated and stayed that way :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kricket2571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
wonderful popover recipe! a few minor modifications: melted a dime-sized amount of butter in each popover cup in 450 degree oven for 2 min prior to pouring batter into cups (watch close and don't let it burn!). also baked for 15 min at 450 degrees then 375 for 15 minutes per another review's suggestion. also important: do NOT open the oven while baking! turn on the oven light if you must but do NOT open the oven door!!these turned out crispy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside! can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States