Unbelievable Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
simple but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is the Best recipe I have used. I tried lisa910 recipe with pre heating the pans and lowering the temp after 20min and they didn't rise as high as this recipe. This is a 5 star recipe to me!! Love it I Wouldn't Change A Thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
all you need is a buttered muffin tin and if you use pan drippigs instead of greasing and flouring you be amazed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Loved these-accidentally made easier! Mix batter, spray cold muffin tin with pam, put pat of butter in each of 8-9 cups, then pour batter right over butter to half full. Bake at 450 for 15 mins, then 375 for 10 to 15 or until as browned as u like. The butter melts and rises to surface as it bakes, just like when you melt it first. These were just right, brown and a bit crisp on outside, soft and tender on inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
These are the most delicioius, wonderful, fabulous, great, magnificen, yummy, excellent, cool, extraordinary popevers I have ever tasted. They have become a great tradition in our family and we have them instead of birthday cake for all the children's birthdays! They taste excellent with frosting and are my little Danny's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was a great recipie. I did not have a popover pan so just used a muffin tin.. it worked great. I did preheat the pan, as that is what mamma used to do when she made popovers. They turned out great so I took a photo of them. Everyone liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These get rave reviews every time I make them. I've even had them described to me as "heavenly". And the recipe is so simple even I can recall it without having to constantly check the computer screen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
wonderful popover recipe! a few minor modifications: melted a dime-sized amount of butter in each popover cup in 450 degree oven for 2 min prior to pouring batter into cups (watch close and don't let it burn!). also baked for 15 min at 450 degrees then 375 for 15 minutes per another review's suggestion. also important: do NOT open the oven while baking! turn on the oven light if you must but do NOT open the oven door!!these turned out crispy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside! can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This is my family's traditional recipe - and I use 100 year old pans. The recipe is very dependent on the oven. The expansion is based on quickly cooking the top, which captures the steam. With a quickly heating oven, a cool pan and oven work well - the top seals while the pan is still cool. If the oven is slow to heat, the pan and the oven will need to be preheated, and they might not pop quite as high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
so goood! im going to try to make these every holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States