Unbelievable Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Overall, these did not rise as high as another recipe I use and they were a bit leaden. The other recipe I use of consists of the same ingredients and amounts, but, the pan is preheated in a 450 oven, then the batter is added, then they are baked for 15-20 minutes at 450, lower the temp to 375, then bake for 15-20 minutes more. You won't believe the difference, they are super super high, light, crispy yet fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA910

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
not a good recipie at all these deflate and are quite dissapointing. there are much much better recipies out there. save your time and ingredients and skip this one. it's the same recipie as christy's. skip it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
These are the most delicioius, wonderful, fabulous, great, magnificen, yummy, excellent, cool, extraordinary popevers I have ever tasted. They have become a great tradition in our family and we have them instead of birthday cake for all the children's birthdays! They taste excellent with frosting and are my little Danny's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
simple but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was a great recipie. I did not have a popover pan so just used a muffin tin.. it worked great. I did preheat the pan, as that is what mamma used to do when she made popovers. They turned out great so I took a photo of them. Everyone liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmilyandAdam
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Very delicious. They were quickly made, and our mom really liked them! They did turn out slightly crunchy, but on the inside they were very soft. Probably a mistake on our end. Nice work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyandAdam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These get rave reviews every time I make them. I've even had them described to me as "heavenly". And the recipe is so simple even I can recall it without having to constantly check the computer screen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These are great!! I love the light eggy flavor to them. I just did a mini-batch to try them for the first time and a neighbor happen to be over borrowing a tool of my husband's when I took them out of the oven and he at two and said they were great. I only rank the recipe 4-stars because I followed the advise of one of the other reviewers and preheated the oven to 450 as well as the pan. The cooking time was then a little less about 15 minutes at 450 then another 10 at 350...but I was using a muffin pan, not a popover pan. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
After making a lot of hockey pucks, I finally got this down. Let your all of your ingredients get to room temp first. Place oven rack on top shelf, place green olive size chunks of butter in bottom of muffin tins then preheat the tin in the oven to allow the butter to melt. After 20 minutes, reduce heat and cook only 5-10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
wonderful popover recipe! a few minor modifications: melted a dime-sized amount of butter in each popover cup in 450 degree oven for 2 min prior to pouring batter into cups (watch close and don't let it burn!). also baked for 15 min at 450 degrees then 375 for 15 minutes per another review's suggestion. also important: do NOT open the oven while baking! turn on the oven light if you must but do NOT open the oven door!!these turned out crispy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside! can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States