Unbelievable Grilled Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is not so bad, although I did cut way back on the mayo, and if I make it again I think I'll use margarine instead--personal preference. I didn't have a loaf of french bread, but I did have thin slices of a round loaf I made yesterday, so I used that instead. I burned a few of the slices while crisping on the grill, so I tossed a couple to the birds. That hurdle leaped, though, I put the spread on each slice then put the slices of bread together like sandwiches and put in the foil on the top rack of the grill while I grilled ham slices. Worked pretty well, although I would prefer not to grill these if I did it again. I usually broil my garlic bread, and apparently I'm better with the broiler than the grill. Bf seemed so so on these--they were a bit too crispy for him. I think they are okay but I don't think the mayo is my thing. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Based on the rec. of others, I used half the amount of mayo and half the amount of garlic. I also did not have cheddar so omitted it. It was good. I took off the foil and placed them top up in hopes of getting a crusty cheese topping, which worked a little. I think this might be better in the broiler since it would get browned on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
absolutely fantastic bread!! I end up eating so much of this when I make it that i don't eat the main meal! You can alter this recipe in many ways, JUST DON'T USE MIRACLE WHIP INSTEAD! ICK! I would say the biggest thing I do is broiling it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Really just OK. I made it exactly how the recipe states, I actually thought it tasted more like a 3 1/2 stars but none of the people I served it to really mentioned it and no one went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Delicious! However, I would DEFINITELY half the topping. It tastes great but it is WAY TOO MUCH and TOO RICH! I wouldn't change anything else but the quantity. Great easy side for visitors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I made it for my wife's birthday bbq we had and it went almost as fast as my brisket. I sliced the garlic into thin pieces and it turned out great. I am making it again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was not a family favorite. It didn't taste bad or anything. It was just not what I was looking for. With the paprika, the spicy kick seemed a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Abbitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Way too much mayo in our opinion. Everyone was scraping the excess off their bread. I doubt I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I used half of the mixture on the bread and it was enough. My husband and I enjoyed it, but the kids didn't seem to care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
The flavor was good, my husband loved the cheese touch. I like my garlic bread toasty and even though you toast it before hand it wasn't enough to make it crispy. I removed some of the mixture and placed under the broiler but it didn't crisp it up enough for my taste. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: La Grange, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States