Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe.Very light and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is just spectacular. I had real problems with batter (soggy, tasteless, too thin etc), but this was so crisp and light! I too, cut the baking powder down to 2 tbspns, but I used self-raising flour (all I had on hand) and it worked perfectly. I had no problem with it sticking to the thing I was battering (fresh pecorino cheese cubes - it was too wonderful to contemplate!). For such a simple recipe, you'll get fabulous results - guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is a perfect batter. It's thick, and coats the fish nicely and yet, doesn't come out overly oily. I do spice the flour with garlic powder, italian seasoning, salt, pepper and vegetable seasoning. I followed suggestions and lowered the baking powder to 2 tbsp. It's a good batter for pretty much anything going in the fryer. Cheese, onion rings etc. (Try the cheese, it's phenomenal!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We used a total of 2 T baking powder which worked very well – w/o the bitter aftertaste previous reviewers have written about. We also added ¼ tsp. Old Bay & an equal amount of LA Gold (hot sauce). 5 +++ stars from us. We’ll be making this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was just terrific. I always struggle with frying fish in the typical bread crumb coating, and this solved the dilemma forever! I too reduced the baking powder to 2T, but did not change anything else. The coating is a little messy to apply, but wasn't a problem. It can be thicker or thinner to your taste. Absolutely delcious! It reminded my family of the old Arthur Treacher's fried fish (or Long John Silver's). Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The fish turned out so great. I used 3/4 c of milk and 3/4 c of water because the batter was too thick at first. I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to the mixture as well. I fried the fish in 1/2 an inch of vegetable oil. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
light, crispy batter that allows you to still taste the fish, not just the batter. For a change i added curry powder one day and it was new exciting batter, and just as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I think the 1/4 cup baking powder was a typo. I used self rising, and omitted the powder. To the recipe, I added an egg, and creole seasoning. We used it for perch, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Makes the best, lightest and nicest batter for fish. My husband even goes to the store to buy fish just so I'll make fish and chips for him using this batter! I've used this recipe several times now - never fails - although half the recipe is usually plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The name is truly fitting of this batter. Best I have ever made. Cut back on the baking powder as well, and was pleased with being able to still taste the fish "I" caught last summer... Yum Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

How to Fillet a Fish

See how to clean, fillet, and fry a fresh fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States