Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is just spectacular. I had real problems with batter (soggy, tasteless, too thin etc), but this was so crisp and light! I too, cut the baking powder down to 2 tbspns, but I used self-raising flour (all I had on hand) and it worked perfectly. I had no problem with it sticking to the thing I was battering (fresh pecorino cheese cubes - it was too wonderful to contemplate!). For such a simple recipe, you'll get fabulous results - guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The fish turned out so great. I used 3/4 c of milk and 3/4 c of water because the batter was too thick at first. I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to the mixture as well. I fried the fish in 1/2 an inch of vegetable oil. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We used a total of 2 T baking powder which worked very well – w/o the bitter aftertaste previous reviewers have written about. We also added ¼ tsp. Old Bay & an equal amount of LA Gold (hot sauce). 5 +++ stars from us. We’ll be making this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This turned out pretty good. I did only 2T of the baking soda as the other review suggested. I also dredged the fish in flour first to help the batter stick. Either fry it up in a non stick pan or make sure your grease is deep enough to float the fish in to prevent sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is not good It is BITTER I think it is the Baking Powder 1/4 of a cup ??. My whole family dislike this VERY much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
From Chef Pare. On the face of it ,nice batter. I do agree with other reviews, too much baking powder. I recommend, cut the baking powder to 1 TLBS. In place of the reduced baking powder add this. I TSP of lemon juice (fresh is best) & 1 TSP of honey. (honey) not sugar. honey will sustain higher heat than sugar without burning. If you decide the batter is too thick, cut it with water. Milk will make it tougher/chewier. I am out of the business now, but happy to help out others. kpare55@telus.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is great. I used self rising flour (that I seasoned really well) instead and decreased the baking powder. And like some of the other reviews, I also increased the liquid because the batter is really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is a perfect batter. It's thick, and coats the fish nicely and yet, doesn't come out overly oily. I do spice the flour with garlic powder, italian seasoning, salt, pepper and vegetable seasoning. I followed suggestions and lowered the baking powder to 2 tbsp. It's a good batter for pretty much anything going in the fryer. Cheese, onion rings etc. (Try the cheese, it's phenomenal!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe was good but did have a little bit of a bitter taste. Next time, I may cut way back on the baking powder. I was kinda messy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was just terrific. I always struggle with frying fish in the typical bread crumb coating, and this solved the dilemma forever! I too reduced the baking powder to 2T, but did not change anything else. The coating is a little messy to apply, but wasn't a problem. It can be thicker or thinner to your taste. Absolutely delcious! It reminded my family of the old Arthur Treacher's fried fish (or Long John Silver's). Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

How to Fillet a Fish

See how to clean, fillet, and fry a fresh fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States