Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe.Very light and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This recipe was awesome! The fish turned out so great. I used 3/4 c of milk and 3/4 c of water because the batter was too thick at first. I added salt, pepper and garlic powder to the mixture as well. I fried the fish in 1/2 an inch of vegetable oil. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
452 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is not good It is BITTER I think it is the Baking Powder 1/4 of a cup ??. My whole family dislike this VERY much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe was good but did have a little bit of a bitter taste. Next time, I may cut way back on the baking powder. I was kinda messy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We used a total of 2 T baking powder which worked very well – w/o the bitter aftertaste previous reviewers have written about. We also added ¼ tsp. Old Bay & an equal amount of LA Gold (hot sauce). 5 +++ stars from us. We’ll be making this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was just terrific. I always struggle with frying fish in the typical bread crumb coating, and this solved the dilemma forever! I too reduced the baking powder to 2T, but did not change anything else. The coating is a little messy to apply, but wasn't a problem. It can be thicker or thinner to your taste. Absolutely delcious! It reminded my family of the old Arthur Treacher's fried fish (or Long John Silver's). Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was an unbelievably simple recipe, but it was wonderful. I had to add a little water later as the batter thickened as I fried the fish. That was to be expected, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This turned out pretty good. I did only 2T of the baking soda as the other review suggested. I also dredged the fish in flour first to help the batter stick. Either fry it up in a non stick pan or make sure your grease is deep enough to float the fish in to prevent sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a decent recipe. The batter was nice and crispy, but the taste left something to be desired. I added pepper and Old Bay Seasoning and took the advise of others to cut the baking powder to 2 Tbs. It still needed something. Maybe more salt? Maybe garlic? I've never made my own fish fry before so have nothing to compare it to except the frozen fish fillets from the store and these are much better than those things, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is just spectacular. I had real problems with batter (soggy, tasteless, too thin etc), but this was so crisp and light! I too, cut the baking powder down to 2 tbspns, but I used self-raising flour (all I had on hand) and it worked perfectly. I had no problem with it sticking to the thing I was battering (fresh pecorino cheese cubes - it was too wonderful to contemplate!). For such a simple recipe, you'll get fabulous results - guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
486 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States