Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
A great base for a batter without egg. I don't keep milk in the house but I did have dried milk, so I just added beer instead of water for liquid, did not add salt just Old Bay by taste. I fried shrimp and tasted one before fully seasoning. Took the advise of others and only added 1T of baking powder. So crispy and delicous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe - How about dipping the battered fish into crushed salt and vinegar chips before cooking it. I saw this idea on TV, could work with other kinds of potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Oh my gosh soooo crunchy but still melts in your mouth! I added my own blend of herbs in the batter to make it taste ... Try adding dry parsley , sage, fine herbs, garlic powder, thyme, celery salt , and salt and pepper. Every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Made this tonight. Really liked it. Because of other reviews I reduced amount of baking powder I used to just over half called for. The batter is easy, uses few ingredients, and cooks up fluffy and crisp. I'd recommend to anyone wanting a quick easy batter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I WILL MAKE THIS OVER AND OVER AGAIN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBoyarBeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is such a simple recipe and WOW what a great crispy coating on my fish. I did drop back to 2 tablespoons of Baking Powder. It was a thick batter but it fried up golden brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this last night I added Weber Bay Seasoning (or Old Bay)to the batter (still added the salt) and seasoned my Tilapia with it. I also added more water a little at a time to get a thinner consistency but not too thin. It was amazing! My daughter who doesn't eat fish asked me to dip my chicken in the batter so next time I'll add Weber's Kickin Chicken and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
We like spicy, so I improvised a bit on this receipe by adding 1/4 tsp each of ground garlic and Old Bay Seasoning. 1/8 tsp of ground Cayenne pepper. I also reduced the baking powder to 2 T. When cooking less fish, I reduce the ingredients (except the seasonings). We use it on catfish, smelt, and shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I reduced the baking soda to 2 Tb and it was VERY BITTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this the other day and it was great! I followed other reviewers advice and reduced the baking powder. I assumed it was supposed to read 1/4 tsp so that's what I used. I also dipped my fish in flour before the batter which helped it stick better. It was a bit messy, but that was to be expected since this was my first time making battered fish. It was a big hit and this will definitely be my 'go-to' batter recipe. I look forward to trying it on chicken balls as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States