Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
The amount of baking powder doesn't sound right, and I didn't want to risk wasting ingredients, so I cut back to the suggested 2 Tbsp. (I don't think 1/4 tsp would be enough, as some have done.) I also added black pepper and cayenne pepper. It was light and crispy just like everyone says, and I thought it tasted great. The batter is a bit thick, but it stayed on well. I used this for fried green tomatoes, but I will use it for fish, zucchini, mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I ruined $20 of fish with this recipe. The baking powder is overpowering and bitter. I should have followed my instincts when my gut told me 1/4 cup was bizarre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I used gluten free flour and the recommended 2t of baking powder. This was one of the best recipes for fish ever! My son was so happy at the light and crispy batter he wanted more! I did also add a bit of pepper and 1tsp tony's to it..gave it a nice kick .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Really loved it! So thin and crispy. Instead of just flour, i used 1/2 cup of flour and 1/2 self raising flour and like the other reviews i used only 2T of baking powder. Maybe next time i will use less salt... its really too much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe last night, keeping in mind others' reviews and didn't put in as much baking powder. I was so impressed at the outcome! Not overly greasy, very crispy. My family now wants everything fried in this batter! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Wish I had read the reviews first. Definitely too bitter. That much baking powder simply makes the batter too alkaline and it also creates an unpleasant mouth feel after eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
What a lovely recipe! I used only 2 Tbsp of baking powder and the batter turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe just as the recipe said. The batter came off in the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulawayo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
way too much baking powder didn't adhere that well to fish. Will try again with less baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hornybull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe and all the recommendations for alleviating that "bitter" taste with no fortune. I'm giving it 2 stars because it was too bland and bitter, but had a great crisp texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States