Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe just as the recipe said. The batter came off in the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulawayo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
way too much baking powder didn't adhere that well to fish. Will try again with less baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hornybull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe and all the recommendations for alleviating that "bitter" taste with no fortune. I'm giving it 2 stars because it was too bland and bitter, but had a great crisp texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Made this batter for a few fishermen not long ago and they loved it :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very tasty batter. I followed suggestions on the baking powder and reduced it to 2 tablespoons, added a few spices, and it turned out wonderful. Light and crisp! My favorite has always been beer batter but this family doesn't have beer at all anymore. This is a great substitute, just as good as beer batter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
So light and crispy. The batter was a little thick so I thinned it with a bit of water. I added just a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I patted dry the fish fillets and then dredged them with a seasoned flour mixture. The batter didn't separate from the fish. Will use this again. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great batter! Adjust/add seasonings to your liking and reduce baking powder to 1/4 tsp and its PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
A great base for a batter without egg. I don't keep milk in the house but I did have dried milk, so I just added beer instead of water for liquid, did not add salt just Old Bay by taste. I fried shrimp and tasted one before fully seasoning. Took the advise of others and only added 1T of baking powder. So crispy and delicous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe - How about dipping the battered fish into crushed salt and vinegar chips before cooking it. I saw this idea on TV, could work with other kinds of potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States