Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I honestly don't know how to fry fish! I followed the recipe exactly and fried in in a pan on the stove. It came out mushy and just broke apart in the pan. So I switched it up half way through, omitted the liquids and managed to save a few edible fried pieces. I know its how I am cooking them and not the recipe but i have no clue... happens everytime I batter fish and fry it, clearly not meant to be for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe. The batter wasn't near as thick as I expected it to be, and most of it fell off and remained in the skillet. I added 1/2 cup of yellow corn meal, and still it was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I only used 2 tbsp of baking powder as suggested. I had to add a little more water as the batter was thick. For seasoning I added Natures Own by Windsor. I deep fried this and it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
What I love about this batter is that it actually stays on the fish! It's crispy with a great flavor. I've made it several times using snapper, rock fish, and sole; and I cook it in coconut oil. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
crispy, beautiful, fried up perfectly golden; tasted horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Used it tonight and have got to say I assumed the baking powder was a typo and used a 1/4 tsp instead of a cup and it was perfect! My fish looked and beautiful and tasted even better. Will definitely keep this recipe for any other battering I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
It was more like pancake batter. Terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
The batter came out really bitter even with cutting the baking powder in half. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Salty, baking powder, metal taste. Takes the flavor away from the fish taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Try this simple and crispy fish batter.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States