Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and it was ok. Then I really read the reviews. I saw that you had to reduce the baking powder but I didn't read on how much. I reduced the baking powder to 2 Tbsp as suggested this time and it was terrific. My husband even asked this morning how I did it! Too bad 'All Recipes' doesn't edit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNETENNANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Self-Rising Flour, 1ts Baking Powder, 2 ts Vinegar makes it more Crosby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
We all LOVED this. I switched the milk for whole buttermilk. And when I saw 1/4 cup of baking powder, I thought it was a typo. After reading other comments, I used only 1T (but we are at high elevation). It turned out great and will definitely use it again. I put 4 stars because of the baking powder suggestion in the recipe, otherwise I would put 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe but I did worry it might have a bitter taste with all that baking powder but I didn't cut back. Added lemon pepper seasoning, and a little more milk and water, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked the taste of this recipe with the reduction in baking powder (2 tablespoons). It was used to coat catfish nuggets because I ran out of cornmeal. The recipe worked with the catfish but the consistency reminded me of glue and seemed to like my fingers more then the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Best and easiest batter I have used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
awesome batter, my husband just love's it. for sure will make some again. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This worked wonderful with my tilapia tonight. One of the best batters I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tried this batter, it is a good basic crispy batter! I used 3 TBS. baking powder and had to double the water because its was too thick. Also added garlic powder, old bay to the dry ingredients before adding liquid. Also floured fish before dipping in batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
wow, great stuff, makes me love fish, used too much oil, burnt most, will try again, 2 cups hot oil may be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

How to Fillet a Fish

See how to clean, fillet, and fry a fresh fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States