Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Good recipe except adjustment needed: 1 cup all purpose flour 3/4 cup milk 3/4 cup water 2/3 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon baking powder **Note: The amount of salt is for folks that don't like too salty. For most Americans' preferences, use 1 teaspoon salt. Marinate fish with ground cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, salt & pepper for 1/2 - 1hr, this will give another layer of flavor, it's worth it! Hubby was amazed of the unique flavor of the fish meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Food Creator

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I make this a lot. I've followed Chef Pare's suggestion to cut the baking powder to 1 Tbsp and added a little honey. This improves an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This batter is certainly light and crispy! I cut the baking powder to 2 Tbs. still a bit bitter for my taste. I seasoned it w/ s/p and garlic powder. what are others using?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lundberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momsmenage
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Ome best batter ever. I too had to add liquid and used tbls of baking powder. Boy friend says "keep that recipe! "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I have tried this recipe for the first time today and it was lovly its was good and crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Perfect, considering I was out. I just tweaked a little by using self rising flour I had on hand with spices such as Old Bay, Season Salt and pepper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Good recipe, I tried instead of water some lemonade, no baking powder (s/r flour) it turned out great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good, used 2 Tbs baking powder instead, as recommended, and added some onion powder, pepper, and smoked paprika. I'll probably lose the paprika next time. Very good, easy, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin E. Bottjen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used this batter to make fish tacos, and the fish turned out perfect. I followed other comments and only used 2T of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I honestly don't know how to fry fish! I followed the recipe exactly and fried in in a pan on the stove. It came out mushy and just broke apart in the pan. So I switched it up half way through, omitted the liquids and managed to save a few edible fried pieces. I know its how I am cooking them and not the recipe but i have no clue... happens everytime I batter fish and fry it, clearly not meant to be for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States