Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I think it would have been better had I followed the recipe. I used whole wheat flour to try to make it a bit healthier. I did have to add more water and milk because the whole wheat really soaks up the liquid. The one thing I noticed is that the whole wheat coating soaked up a lot of oil, as well. Probably better to stick to white flour when making a batter. All, in all, it's a good recipe. I did cut down on the baking powder (as others suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This recipe is not worthy! What a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
OMG!!! Amazing and simple. Tastes so light and is the perfect consistency for a fillet of cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Really wonderful. Everyone loved it on smelts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Best fish batter out there! Browns up nicely when fried, crispy to eat and is just like the professionals make. We haven't ordered fish and chips for years because of this recipe!! Only put 2 tablespoons of the baking powder in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrypop

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We used 1/4 teaspoon baking powder as other's suggested. It was good. It broke apart easily after deep frying several (not sure why but it did). My husband added some pepper and some other seasonings for spice also. It was good. Not great and certainly not the best we've had, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
WOW! Good batter, I used it with shrimp and cut up tilapia as well. Tasted like the restaurant. Should be eaten quickly however or better will soften up, but that's with any fried fish. Great recipe, will keep in my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
If you decrease the baking powder this is a winning recipe. We make the first batch then tasted it and we felt it was a little bitter. Decreased the baking powder to about 1/16 and it was perfect for me but my husband liked the crispness of the first batch. In the end we decided we would try 1/8 c next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Gluten free option -rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I followed some of the other reviews and increased the liquid a bit and only used 2 tbsp of Baking Powder. It was extremely tasty. I did have an issue with the fish sticking to my pan, but I think that was my fault. Not sure if I should have used only a skiff of oil or a deeper pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

How to Fillet a Fish

See how to clean, fillet, and fry a fresh fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States